Invoice vs. MSRP vs. Cost

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2004, 05:04 PM
Under the radar

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Invoice vs. MSRP vs. Cost

I am looking at a car that has an MSRP of $21,595 the invoice amount is $19,942. I assume the cost to the dealer is even less. What exactly does the invoice amount refer to?
Old 02-03-2004, 05:33 PM
Dragging knees in

Received 32 Likes on 21 Posts
Invoice is a made-up number to fool the public into thinking that that's what the dealership pays for the vehicle. It's total BS.

The actual cost depends on the size of the dealership's allotment, which is the number of vehicles they are allocated from the factory. The bigger the dealership, the cheaper they can get cars for.
Old 02-03-2004, 05:36 PM
Dragging knees in

Oh, yeah. If you ask the dealership for their invoice, they will show it to you. If you ask them for the cost, they will either play dumb or be like "I'm just a salesman. I don't have those figures."

Sometimes it's best to deal with the fleet manager of the dealership. Either way, you're basically dealing with him/her because even when you talk with a salesperson, they always take your offer to the manager. By talking to the manager directly, you can save time and money.
Old 02-03-2004, 05:37 PM
Under the radar

That's what I was thinking. I wonder how low I can go.
Old 02-03-2004, 05:40 PM
Pro

There is also a dealer holdback number which is part of their profit. It is anywhere from a few hundred to over 1k per car. Generally it is tough to dip into this number on a popular car. Get near the end of a month or quarter and you sometimes can.
Old 02-03-2004, 06:17 PM
It's not over yet

most people i have talked to afree that 3% over invoice is a fair price. This way the dealer makes some money on the sale and u save some cash cause ur not paying msrp. They will usually let the car for this much as long as it's not in high demand (i.e sti, rx8 or g35c)
Old 02-03-2004, 06:51 PM
Senior Moderator