Installing brakes

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2004, 06:56 PM
CL-S retired 10.17.06

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Installing brakes

Does anyone have detailed instructions for installing brakes? I just got my brembo rotors in and waiting for my pads. Headers will be in tomorrow. It's just the brakes I'm not too sure of. I've never done them before but I am mechanically inclined and shoudn;t be too hard to figure out as long as I have instructions. What tools will I need? Any help appreciated.

-john
Old 04-28-2004, 07:55 PM
Intermediate

are you keeping the stock calipers?
Old 04-28-2004, 08:22 PM
Racer

Here's a pretty good DIY

Brake DIY
Old 04-28-2004, 09:00 PM
Intermediate

John, I am not an auto mechanic, just real mechanical inclined, so I might be off from a pro. I have never read a manual on how to change brakes either. I have never had any problems so far and have done a few brake changes on Hondas…

If your keeping the same calipers…
Jack the car. Note: be safe when jacking…
Turn the key to the on position and push the brake pedal several times until you do not feel any pressure on it.
Note: make sure the car is on level ground and opposite wheel is chocked.
Remove the wheel and tire assy.
Unbolt the brake line clamp from the frame of the car. (11mm I think)
Unbolt the caliper from around the rotor. (again 11mm I think)
Use lockwire or string to hold the caliper with the piston on it out of the way but not with the brake line supporting the weight.
Unbolt the 2 large Philips screw that holds on the rotor.
Note: Its at least a #3 Philips if not a #4, I also used some WD-40 or similar and let it sit for a few min. to loosen up the screw because you don’t want to strip it.
I also used a rubber mallet to pound the screwdriver into the screw to insure I did not strip it. I have heard of them being easy to take off, and difficult to take off.
Remove and Reinstall the rotor.
Remove pads.