Break brakes

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2006, 10:21 PM
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Break brakes

I heard I metallic squealing sound today so I figured my pads are on its way out (I have 108k on the car). Bought some ceramic pads and pulled the caliper off... still have over half of the pad so the noise was something else. But whatever, I decided to install them anyways. Did the usual, clean, antisqueal, push piston down, remount. I also removed some extra fluid from the reservoir.

Thought I was a pro for doing it so fast but when I started driving, I noticed that the pedal sunk down more when I hold it. Doesn't bottom out but gets pretty close. Just to make sure, I bled the front brakes twice (no bubbles) and it still feels different.

I'm stumped, only thing I can think of is a bad master cylinder. Maybe pushing the piston back fucked it up. Don't know, anyone have any suggestions?

Pads the Satisfied Pro Ceramics btw

Thanks
Old 06-07-2006, 11:11 PM
Blown is Best

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Did you also check the back pads? For some reason, these cars go through rear pads faster than the front. After you replaced the pads, do you still get the squeal?

Also, bleeding sequence is actually backwards from what I'm used to per Helms. Honda/Acura bleeds their systems from closest to Master Cylinder first and rotates out to farthest last.

Whenever I push a piston back in, I bleed that cylinder just to get the gunk out that has settled in the cylinder and was dislodged when the piston was pushed back in.

If you've bled the system, I'm not sure why your pedal would not firm up. Disk brakes are not adjustable and pedal firmness/height is usually an air/bleed issue. I would suggest re-bleeding the system.
Old 06-07-2006, 11:33 PM
Instructor

Originally Posted by Allout
Did you also check the back pads? For some reason, these cars go through rear pads faster than the front. After you replaced the pads, do you still get the squeal?