Am I being robbed, Vtec/Intake

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2008, 05:42 AM
Three Wheelin'

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Am I being robbed, Vtec/Intake

Ok so I already tried to post, but being a newbie I put it in the FAQ section. Then I saw I was not supposed to do that! Sorry Moderators my bad!

Anyways I have a 01 CLS 58k no mods. I've been reading for the last 4 hours and found were I my vtec and manifold should be kicking in around 3800 rpm. Well I feel nothing @ that rpm.

Only sometimes at half throttle I feel a little kick right at 4200. And never feel anything at WOT at 4200. Then at any throttle position and always right at 5k I feel a boost with a nice audible change. So whats going on?

The car has ran the same since I got in in November, if it is low on power I really would not know. Nothing to compare it to except my last car. It was a 02 Modded Jetta 1.8T with a K04 turbo. It dynoed 225Whp and 298 WTQ, and ran 14.7 to 14.9's all day at PMI. And there is no doubt it was faster than this cl is. I certanly don't have a problem with traction as others talk about (in the CLS). (Wich sucks for me). From what I can tell from this forum it (The CLS) should be a mid 14 sec car. I really doubt mine is. I am at 5600 to 6000 Ft elevation though.

Anyways I'm found were the whole "check your actuator" thread was, and I will be doing that when I get off work @ 7am today.

Just wondering if someone modded the car and changed the settings. The car now show's no signs of it ever being moddified. And the original owner was a female Judge from FL, and i'm the second owner. I did pull the #1 plug just to see if I needed to change them and there were NGK R plugs that looked pretty new.

Well like I said I will check the actuator in a few hours.

Any thoughts?
Old 04-19-2008, 06:14 AM
4drs just wanna have fun!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts