Shocks and Wheel Bearings TSX

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2015, 05:30 PM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shocks and Wheel Bearings TSX

Hello. I am not a mechanic and am really just trying to get some honest advice. I have a 2005 TSX with ~147k miles and stock suspension. Recently (maybe 6 months ago) had bushings on left side fixed by Acura. Started hearing a new noise, different from before, on the left and mostly when I turned the wheel sharply as in when I was backing out of a parking spot. I can kinda feel the rubbing also in the steering wheel.

Took it to a family mechanic and he said it was my wheel bearings. He also said that I would most likely need to replace the front struts when he got in there because of the mileage (according to his experience, he hadn't looked at them yet). He wants to charge me $2000 for all of this. So 3 new wheel bearings (left, right, and the one in the middle of the right axle) and suspension in the front.

Is this reasonable pricing? I am considering selling the car as the miles are really high and im not sure if fixing this is a guarantee of anything.

THANKS! -Christine
Old 10-19-2015, 02:38 PM
Safety Car

Received 1,166 Likes on 877 Posts
Copy and pasted from the other thread.
Originally Posted by Roland_Bluntzs
You should try and get a breakdown of cost from your mechanic. If the car does need the parts you have mentioned, parts branding is very important. You're not going to find a car that has original bearings and ball joints and shocks at 150k miles....unless its a Honda.

Reason being that the original parts are of extremely high quality and are spec'd out to be more heavy duty than they need be.

Replacing all 4 wheel bearings is a better idea than 3. Shocks may or may not need replacing at your mileage.

If you do decide to change to aftermarket (non Honda) parts, Timken makes good bearings. SKF or NTN is another good manufacturer. Rockauto.com is a good place to shop.