New wheels, slight damage. Advice?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2007 | 07:02 PM
Instructor

New wheels, slight damage. Advice?

Semi-newbie here, reaching out to forum members for their thoughts. I just purchased a set of TSX accessory wheels, 17" sparkle silvers. I wanted to go bigger, but figured I could save money by using the stock tires on these. It looks like one of the wheels was slightly damaged during shipping. Shipping was by UPS ground. Is there any recourse for me? Insurance or anything?

My other question for you guys is, is there anything I can do to fix it? And if so, is it worth it? The damage is pretty slight, just a couple of small dents, almost like some chunks are missing. I'm sure I'm exaggerating and being anal, but anytime I buy something new, I expect just that, new. Below are some pics.

Above is a shot of all four wheels. The one on the bottom left is the damaged one.

Above is a close up of the damaged wheel.

Above is a close up of the damaged area.

Another angle.

Another angle.

Yet another angle.

Here's another shot that kind of shows how minor the damage is. Once the tire is on, I think it may be even harder to notice. Do I need to be concerned about putting a tire on this wheel? Or am I pretty safe in assuming there should be no problems?

Also, just some quick questions on how to put the center cap together. It doesn't look like it screws in. Do I just pop it in by force? And do I need to do anything to make sure the 'A' emblem doesn't fall off the center cap?

I appreciate your input. I love this forum!
Old 06-14-2007 | 09:00 PM
Team Owner

You can probaby get that fixed up by a wheel shop easy.

But I'd try to get UPS to reimburse for the damage.
Old 06-15-2007 | 12:37 AM
Instructor

Originally Posted by EuRTSX