Proper way to launch at track w/a Manual Transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2004, 09:55 PM
NocturnaL

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Proper way to launch at track w/a Manual Transmission?

Hey guys,
As im still new to driving stick-shift, i was j/looking for a little advice..

whats the best way to launch a car with a manual transmission at the track?

and wats the proper way to burn-out thru the water before lining up?

thanks guys
Old 04-11-2004, 05:02 PM
TSXASORISREX

well from my minimal experiance in track racing i found it is best to keep the revs at 3-4 rpm's then just drop off the clutch u wont just burn out but you will have a solid launch. I have never done the water burn out maybe some one else can help you with that and also havign the vsa off will help alot. Another thing to take in is the stagging lights im to lazy to type on how to stage properly but that helps too.
Old 04-11-2004, 05:46 PM
Bye TSX, hello domestic?

Originally posted by buffalo-tsx
well from my minimal experiance in track racing i found it is best to keep the revs at 3-4 rpm's then just drop off the clutch u wont just burn out but you will have a solid launch. I have never done the water burn out maybe some one else can help you with that and also havign the vsa off will help alot. Another thing to take in is the stagging lights im to lazy to type on how to stage properly but that helps too.
You will experience some vicious wheel hop launching your car. I did a clutch drop once (only plan to do it once) at ~3500-4000 RPM and it hopped so bad I thought my teeth would rattle off.

You must have VSA off, you cannot launch with it on.
Old 04-11-2004, 06:04 PM
NocturnaL

oh cool, thanks guys

Any tips on staging?
Old 04-11-2004, 06:06 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
DO NOT (I repeat) DO NOT USE THE WATER!!!!!