Squealing sound - serpentine belt?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2011, 04:02 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Squealing sound - serpentine belt?

Hey guys, I guess I'm new to Acurazine as a registered user although I've been referring to it since I've had my first gen TSX.

Anyway, I've had a squealing sound for a long time (almost 8 months) coming from what I thought was the serpentine belt. It seemed to be squealing only when I had the A/C running so naturally I thought it was the belt. The car has 70k miles and the belt hadn't been changed yet.

So a few weeks ago I decided to change the belt myself.

I removed the belt and put the new one on, fairly easy job. The old belt looked pretty nasty, lots of what looked to be rust residue.

I put the new belt on and everything was good at first, until I started hearing squealing again the next day.

It only squeals when I have the A/C on and it squeals louder when I'm turning and/or braking.

So maybe you can help me figure out what could be the problem? I guess it could be anything that is directly or indirectly connected to the belt. So this could mean the P/S pump, A/C compressor, Alternator or any one of the pulleys on these systems correct? Or could something else be squealing?

Seems like a daunting task to diagnose myself. Is there any way I can find out what's wrong without taking the car to the rip-off dealer?

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-10-2011, 06:02 PM
RIP RBP

Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts
It sounds like one of your pulleys or one of the components related to the belt is not turning freely. I say that because of the rust residue.
I'd say the pulley because, it contacts the flat back side of the belt and less contact = slippage.

GL
Old 06-10-2011, 06:29 PM
Intermediate

mine does it also only when I start going again not when driving planing on changing the belt also hopefully it will fix my troubles I hope its not the master clutch its been changed 4 times so far
Old 06-11-2011, 07:26 PM
2nd Gear