My Injen CAI Install, bumper method

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2004 | 11:28 PM
Intermediate

My Injen CAI Install, bumper method

Hey guys. I'd like to share my experience with installing the Injen Cold Air Intake. My room mate and I didn't take as many pictures as I thought we did so this isn't exactly a step-by-step, but hopefully the pictures will be handy for someone. As a disclaimer, I'd like everyone to know that I'm a complete novice at working on cars. However, the intake seems to have been installed correctly (please let me know if it isn't!). My bumper didn't suffer any damage from the removal and it realigned perfectly when we put it back on. In any case, please do not hold me responsible for any damage done to your car.

I decided to do the install by removing the bumper. As I said in an earlier thread, my driveway sucks and I didn't feel it was safe to put the car on a jack.

To start off, turn your wheel all the way to the left. You will need to get to a clip in the driver's side wheel well later on. We did not do this prior to removing the battery and prior to the bumper removal, so no power steering. Then my room mate and I popped all the clips, nuts and screws off the bumper, as per the instructions on Acura's fog light install, found here:

https://www.hondacuraworld.com/Merch.../foglights.pdf

The clips are pretty easy to take off: slide a flathead screwdriver in the groove and under clip's head and wiggle the head out. Another member suggested covering the screwdriver with some electrical tape, since the clips are plastic. My room mate messed up the head of one of the clips, so do be careful. Going through steps one through five from those instructions, my car looked like this: