When should I get my first alignment?

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2003, 12:01 PM
Not an Ashtray

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
When should I get my first alignment?

The tire shops around here all claim that you should have an alignment done on your car every six months. The owners manual gives specific instructions about tire rotation, but not about alignment or balancing. Can anybody here offer some recommendations?

I know this sounds like a total newbie question, but I've found that there are quite few knowledable posters at this site who can help you can past the "recommendations" you from your standard tire shop (not hard to imagine why somebody would recommend a service they sell).
Old 10-31-2003, 12:22 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
you dont need an alingment every 6 months...they are just trying to rip you off...unless you hit your wheels or lowered your car, you dont need an alignment...
Old 10-31-2003, 12:33 PM
Not an Ashtray

So, does that mean that I should NEVER do an alignment, or shoudl it be done once a year or something?
Old 10-31-2003, 12:40 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
1. I would get the alignment done when lowering the car. The best method is to use a camber kit for better result.

2. Re-check the alignment when replacing tires or tire/wheel setup, especially if they are different size than the previous setup.

3. Re-check the alignment if the car no longer track the road correctly (going to one side by itself).
Old 10-31-2003, 12:52 PM
Not an Ashtray

So, in other words, the don't get a routine alignment? In the past, I've done it at least a year. But, it sounds like you guys are saying don't do it unless there is some kind of special need.
Old 10-31-2003, 01:13 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally posted by darth62