Sportshift: any risk?

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2006, 05:44 PM
Arriving Somewhere...

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sportshift: any risk?

Yes, I am one of those lame people that doesn't drive a stick. However, I would like to use the Sportshift mode more once my engine breaks in. Two questions:

1. Since I'm not experienced with a manual, I'm not always sure the best times to shift (especially downshifting when slowing down). It seems like there are safeguards against doing anything too stupid, but is there anything that might put strain on the transmission over time so that it has a shorter life? In other words, what should I avoid?

2. Is there any down-side to switching back and forth between Auto and Manual fairly often while driving? I could see myself using Manual a lot, but not during the worst traffic areas of my commute to work.
Old 05-14-2006, 05:52 PM
Photography Nerd

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
No worries, you can change back and forth at will.
Old 05-14-2006, 05:53 PM
Team Owner

Received 378 Likes on 198 Posts
1. Shift when you feel comfortable. You'll slowly discover the best places to shift for your driving style. As for downshifting, the engine computer prevents anything that would be damaging to the transmission.

2. Nope. It's only switching between computer modes and not doing anything physical to the transmission. Nothing to worry about.
Old 05-16-2006, 06:08 PM
Arriving Somewhere...

If the computer doesn't let you do anything that you shouldn't, what was happening in this example: I was coming up on a turn in 3rd gear and made the left (which goes up a hill). I decided to down shift to 2nd to get more power up the hill, and the car kept jerking and stuttering until I quickly switched back to Drive. I certianly wasn't going verty fast or revving much. Again, sorry for being such a manual newb, but I want to know if this kind of thing is going to hurt the tranny as I figure it all out.
Old 05-16-2006, 07:58 PM
Pro