Questions about Purchasing in Different State?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2006, 12:23 PM
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Questions about Purchasing in Different State?

Hi all,

I'm currently looking at the Acura TSX for purchase. I've enjoyed reading all the threads and learning about everybody's likes and dislikes.

Now my issue... I am a resident of Oregon, but need to have a car in Philadelphia for an extended period of time (1-2 years). Is it possible to purchase a car from Philadelphia/NJ dealer and not have to pay sales tax, since my permanent residence will still be in Oregon (No sales tax)???

It seems my options are:
1) Purchase a car in Oregon, and ship it to Philadelphia (No sales tax, and shipping costs of $1000- $1300)
2) Purchase a car in Philadelphia or NJ area (Maybe better price?, Sales tax?, and no shipping required).

Is it even feasible to purchase a car in Philadelphia, and register it in Oregon, w/out the car ever being in Oregon? I would still like to get Oregon plates/insurance/etc.

Any suggestions or input would be appreciated. It seems there is a wide array of experiences on this board, and hopefully someone has some insight into my situation.

Thanks.
Old 04-12-2006, 01:55 PM
Burning Brakes

My guess is that if you're going to be actually residing in Philly for a period of 1 to 2 years, the state of PA is going to want you to have that car registered in PA. Just a guess... I know this because a friend of mine moved up to Maine from GA, and within 6 months the cops were really harassing him to get the car registered in the state.