Overfilled/Overflowed Gasoline Q's

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2006, 05:11 PM
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Overfilled/Overflowed Gasoline Q's

Het guys - long time/first time...

So I have an 06 TSX (which I love more than life itself) and 3 weeks ago went and filled up. I always fill up the tank, and let it fill till the handle "clicks" then I reseat the nozle on the pump. I don't round up or anything - I just let the nozzle do it's job. So, not paying attention, I looked over and there was gasoline pouring out of the car. It didn't stop pumping. It probably leaked about 1.5 gallons. Anyway, I got home cleaned off the car and decided it was a fluke, and got on with my life.

Today, I went to the same gas station, and it happened again. Overfilled, gas pouring out, blah blah blah. Of course the employee in the sation could have cared less. I have been filling my my gas tanks for 15 years, and this has never happened before.

My question's:
- Is it the gas station pumps fault - or my car? I should note that I filled up in between these two visits at a different station and didn't have any problems.
- Have I done any damage to my tank by this overfilling?

Thanks!
Old 07-22-2006, 05:19 PM
jpt
Burning Brakes

It's the pump. You haven't done damage to your tank, only the environment and your paint (both minor, don't worry about it, but stop using that gas station!)
Old 07-22-2006, 05:41 PM
Instructor

The same thing happened to me at a station near my house one morning on the way to work. I was not paying attention while I held the handle (because 90% of the handles are broke around here) then it began to pour out all over my shoes.

I made a complaint with the store clerk but they really had no care what-so-ever. Its most deffinately a problem with the pump station. I never went back to it. Luckily they are building a brand new Wawa just up the street from the house. So that station is going to be history soon.
Old 07-22-2006, 05:54 PM
Instructor