Manual Cars For Dummies

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2004, 10:05 PM
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Manual Cars For Dummies

Hi,
I'm a noob here.
Just wondering if a pro could write a detailed method for driving. Stick. Yes I have searched the forums, but I want an authoritative response from a pro.

So basically, here are my questions

1)When starting, is the procedure to clutch in, put it in first, slowly release the clutch and when it "grabs" add gas OR is it to release the clutch and add gas even before it "grabs".
2) What is rev matching (please explain for dummies. Explain every minute detail)
3)When upshifting should I
a) rev it to lets say 3k and let clutch in, select the next gear and slowly release the clutch, while adding gas from the very start of the release
OR
b) add gas when it "grabs"

4) Is it okay after an upshift for the rmps to drop about 2ks or is this not okay

5) how can you burn out your clutch.

Any answers would be very mutch appreciated by this noob.

Thanks again!
Old 04-29-2004, 10:54 PM
Cruisin'

hi, i'm not sure if i am considered a pro but I've been driving a manual car for over 6 years now and have a turboed b18c1 civic with the orignal clutch for over 60K now. Not many people believe me and the few that have driven my car will attest that the STOCK clutch still grabs like it's new.

1.) What you should aim for is releasing the clutch and hitting the gas at the same time. When the both pedal become on the same level, you basically achieve the perfect start/shift. When learning it is much easier to hold clutch in, put a lil gas, release clutch. This will guarantee you not to stall but it tends to burn the clutch if you put too much gas. Best way to do it is hold clutch in, release clutch and press gas at the same time. Remember the clutch should be either all the way up or all the way down. This motion should be VERY fluid and you really shouldn't feather the clutch if you can avoid it.