Driving a Manual: How to teach?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2004, 04:47 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Driving a Manual: How to teach?

Hey there,

I need advice. How do I teach my brother how to drive a stick-shift? I've tried, yet he has managed to burn out the clutch in the car I gave him. I never had a moment's problem with that clutch in 9 years, yet in 9 weeks time the clutch is gone. About a year before I gave him the car I tried to teach him on it and ended up having to replace the starter.

Help!!!!
Old 06-24-2004, 07:20 PM
I make Boom Boom in

I'm no expert at the manual tranny, but I learned from 2 different people. I think the best lesson I learned is to start the car and in first gear, let out the clutch until you feel it catch, but doesn't allow the car to move forward or roll backwards (the neutral spot). After I got that down, I no longer killed the car starting in first gear. As for the other gears, I just listen to the sound of the engine to know when to switch gears. I usually switch between 3000 and 3500 rpms. I do however still get that jerking action changing to 2nd gear. I find to get the smooth shifting between gears, though, I have to let the clutch out slowly and balancing that with depressing the gas pedal.

I get paranoid that I am wearing out the clutch doing that, but if I didn't (in 1st and 2nd gear) I get the jerking motion aka the "whiplash". 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th gear I don't have a problem with (no jerking). I have had people tell me that once the car is in gear, immediately release the clutch, b/c that is all you really need the clutch for (changing gears). Like I said, I'm not an expert at driving a manual, but I have not stalled in the car since learning balancing the car in 1st gear. So now I am more comfortable with driving a manual tranny and the only time I use the clutch is when I switch gears, unless I am sitting in stop-n-go traffic.