Can I live with an automatic?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2003, 07:18 PM
9th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can I live with an automatic?

I have been driving manuals for the last 12 years or so (Sentra SE-R, current A4 1.8T). The problem is that my wife, although she is able to drive them, really doesn't like it much. It's sort of not fair for me to buy another fairly expensive car and be the only one to drive it all the time. Plus it's inconvenient if I'd rather take her Intrigue somewhere that I would not want to leave mine (such as the airport parking lot).

So, I may break down and go back to an automatic. The problem is that I always said that I wouldn't go auto unless I got a bigger engine to make up for the performance loss. So how do you guys with TSX automatics like them? Seems like a high-revving engine is not the best with an auto, but then I haven't really spent much time driving one for a while. I'm planning on taking a test drive later this week, but a loop around the block isn't a good substitute for all the experience of the people on the forum here. So how about it -- does the TSX do well enough with an auto trans? Is it still a fun drive?

Doug
Old 10-07-2003, 07:23 PM
rb1
Suzuka Master

See http://www.acura-tsx.com/forums/show...&threadid=3237

I understand your concerns about your wife. Any chance on increasing her enthusiasm for the MT?

I'd get a car witha CVT before an AT, but this is really a personal decision that you have to make for yourself. Test drive the AT TSX and see what you think.
Old 10-07-2003, 08:12 PM
idx
Senior Grasshopper

Topic certainly has been beaten before, but as stated you really need to give the AT a full run and see if it'll work. For all my test drives I made sure they were going to take me for more than 'around the block'. I took several trips on the interstate so I got a real good taste of merge/pass power. (and how the TSX lacked against an '03 TL-S)