Feel a slight jerk/push when gear shifts

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2015, 06:02 PM
9th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Feel a slight jerk/push when gear shifts

Hey guys so I just picked up my 2009 Acura RDX with 101,000KM yesterday and I am noticing something.

I had a 2012 HONDS CIVIC exl with 105,000 KM and when I use to drive that, the gear shift was smoooth. No jerk or heavy feeling at all.

With the Rdx, from a stop light when I accelerate slowly, I can feel a slight slight slight jerk..
Even a slighter jerk on 3rd gear.

However, if I press the pedal and go somewhat fast, I don't feel that jerk when shifting gear. It's smooth as butter.

I'm wondering what the issue is, is there an upcoming transmission issue?

I am not that technical but my car was off and I took out the transmission fluid dip stick and the colour was nice and pink. But I can't tell how much fluid is there because it didn't cover the two holes in the stick...

I also didn't notice any oil leak or fluid leak.. They also did an engine wash and it looks brand new so I can't tell whether there are any leaks or not. However, no sign of leaks on my drive way.
Old 10-25-2015, 06:52 PM
Cruisin'

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
New car break-in effect

From other vehicles I've owned, this temperament comes as a result of how the car was broken in. A car driven harder in its early miles can drive much differently than the same car driven more gently in its early miles. The RDX I bought second hand is similar and is more than likely a result of the original drivers having a lead foot.

Source of my opinion: When I was in high school, my sister and I drove exactly the same model and year of pickup trucks, brand new, for a year. I had a lead foot and she didn't. The shift quality in those things after one year was VERY different. Mine shifted much like you describe, hers was smooth.
Old 10-27-2015, 09:24 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 236 Likes on 208 Posts