HandsFreeLink with iPhone frustrations

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2017, 05:42 PM
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation HandsFreeLink with iPhone frustrations

i'm new to HandsFreeLink. upgraded to my 2012 RDX (with shawd & full navi tek package stuff) recently. i have an iPhone 7+ and followed the instructions in the manual to pair it up, but i have to say, i'm pretty disappointed with how it works. of course, maybe i just don't know how to use it very well.

when i receive a call, the car beeps, & i can answer it & hang up via the steering wheel.
when i want to make a call, pressing the steering wheel button does not always activate the iPhone's Siri for me to say "call so'n'so".
no big deal, i can just do that directly on the phone.
BUT, when i do, when i initiate a call on my iPhone, much confusion happens.
yes, the call smartly goes thru the iPhone. but then i tap the audio source icon & change it to use handsfreelink, it doesn't always make the connection, or it takes a really long time.
but worse, let's say i WANT to use the iPhone for the call, handsfreelink seems to not want me to do that & will (at random amounts of time) auto connect & switch the source. so, i switch it back. but then HFL switches it back on me again. so in essence, when the car is on, i cannot use the iPhone as my talk/audio source.

so, this is fine if i receive a call. no prob.
but when i want to either initiate a call AND/OR talk via my iphone, that's extremely problematic.

is this just an incompatibility or am i doing something wrong?
thanks.
Old 09-11-2017, 09:29 PM
Advanced

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
https://acurazine.com/forums/second-generation-rdx-2013-404/siri-eyes-free-will-mine-900746/#post14783034

Here
ya go...had it done on my '15 RDX with tech and works fine
Old 01-13-2018, 09:41 PM
6th Gear