Pre sales advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2007, 09:08 PM
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Pre sales advice

I've been researching a new car now for a good two months.

I'm not familiar with Acura, although a good friend recently bought an MDX and I was impressed with it

I think I've test driven 20 cars!. I narrowed my choice down to the BMW X3 but by the time I "RDX Optioned" it, it was $49k. Then I went down and looked at a CX7 (AWD) and at $33k, the RDX looked better even at $38k.

Hence my choice reduced down between an Audi A3 (loaded) and the RDX (Tech), and since they were about the same price, and drove almost as well (the A3 handles better), and since the RDX has twice the cargo space..... I've decided on a RDX (white).

I currently drive an RX-8 whose lease is up in two months (one payment left); hence I will be visiting the dealer very soon. (btw, speaking of the "gas mileage issue", no car can get worse gas mileage than an RX8. I think I get around 10 mpg.... I drive it hard but it is a 1.3 liter engine! - rotary -- lots of fun to drive though)

Any advice?
Pricing/negotiations? (never bought an Acura)
Must have accessories?
After market options?
Etc.

Thanks all. I've enjoyed reading through the threads.
Old 01-01-2007, 09:15 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
From what I've been reading, you should be gunning for invoice pricing or even slightly below.

Regarding the A3 vs. the RDX, they are pretty dissimilar vehicles, but if you look at the JD Power statistics, the Acura should be substantially more reliable over the long term, and retain a much bigger percentage of its resale value. On a personal note, I had an A4, and it was plagued by electrical gremlins. I've fared much better with Honda/Acura.

There's no "must have" accessories, imo. Even Acura's base models are pretty well optioned. The only decision you really need to make it whether you want the tech (nav) package or not.
Old 01-01-2007, 09:25 PM
Instructor