just did my timing belt/water pump/etc

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2006 | 10:05 PM
Doom dee doooooom

just did my timing belt/water pump/etc

Yeah... i did my timing belt and water pump, etc etc.... what a pain in the ass. I started at 9 this morning and took two hours for lunch, took me until 5:30 to get it done. Would it be worth it to write up a DIY for this, or is everyone pretty familiar with it. I work as a mechanic at a porsche race shop, I never appreciated them until I went to do this today. WHY THE FUCK ARE THERE LIKE 18 BOLTS HOLDING THE FUCKING TIMING BELT COVERS ON?!!?! what the hell is that? Also, I figured out a cool way to saftey wire the timing belt tensioner so it stays compressed without the tool, really easy. I dont own a 3/4 inch impact wrench so I had to break down and do the breaker bar and starter to get the pulley off the crank, I was REALLY skeptical of doing it but I called a guy at the local independent honda shop, he said he has gone through like 15 of the factory tools to hold the motor while you break that bolt loose, and now he just does the breaker bar to loosen it. I didnt do the valve adjustment yet, I guess thats monday's project. I let it go to 122,000 miles, bad I know, but the belt looked like brand new. I did notice that the serpintine idler pulley has some play in it, And I noticed that the top motor mount was broken, so.... I guess I will order those monday. If anyone is worried about doing this... it really isnt hard at all. The worst part is getting the freakin cover bolts out. I do have a question, I havent looked at the manual yet, how hard is getting the valve covers off? They look tight with the intake manifold. I have heard of people putting an Unorthodox Racing Crank Pulley on with favorable results, what is everyones thoughts on that? Ok take care everyone.

Ryan
Old 04-14-2006 | 11:18 PM
Senior Moderator
Regional Coordinator
(Mid-Atlantic)

Damn man, sounds like a hell of a project.

UR pullies are the shizzle