B123 on 2010 MDX AWD

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2017, 07:35 AM
Registered Idiot

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
B123 on 2010 MDX AWD

tire rotate, oil/cabin filters, blah blah blah.

I'm more interested in the trans and gear fluid changes.
I've never done them before on the MDX and wanted to ask for some assistance.
I've read to open the filler bolt first when doing gear oil changes.
I know i need a pump/hose for the rear gear.

B3 service
  • Is it asking for the front, rear, or both?
  • Does the front use standard gear oil, and the rear use the fancy AWD stuff?
  • Will i need to lift the MDX for either? Same as everything else, where you fill till it overflows?

Trans:
  • is it just a drain and fill?
  • Will i need to lift that as well?
  • Am i using Acura fluid for this?
  • is there a certain amount i put in, or till the dipstick level looks good

Want to add that i tow a 6x12 enclosed trailer that weighs about 2500 pounds once a month for 500 - 1000 miles each way.
Old 10-16-2017, 04:24 PM

Received 1,017 Likes on 867 Posts
1.- Transmission houses the front differential as is a Transaxle, Use Honda/Acura ATF-DW1.. Common drain and fill will need 3.x quarts to fill so buy 4q. For a complete service you will need 12q for a 3x4 drain and fill. Transmission fills per the dipstick. Transmission fluid can be changed without lifting the car but it's not comfortable.

2.- Transfer case is separate from the transmission it uses Honda Gear Oil HGO-1 75W-85.. I personally use Mobil 1 LS 75W-90 Full Syn. It only needs 1 quart. Transfer case fills as overflow. Transfer case fluid change needs the car to be LEVELED do not lift the car from the front axle or you will mess up the fill level.

3.- Rear Diff uses Acura very own AWD DPSF 08200-9007A, Do not use Anything else but that part number. 08200-9007 won't do, You need that last prefix "A". You will need 3q as it fill with more or less 2.75q.