Radio Won't Power On after Jump-start (Not Asking for Code) - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Third Generation TL (2004-2008) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2011, 8:29 PM   #1
vkanwar
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 1,282, Level: 19
Points: 1,282, Level: 19 Points: 1,282, Level: 19 Points: 1,282, Level: 19
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Radio Won't Power On after Jump-start (Not Asking for Code)

Hi guys,

I'd appreciate some help on this. I have a 2006 Acura TL base model (non-navi).

I left my car parked for a week while away on vacation. When I got back and tried to turn the car on, I realized the battery had died.

I got some help from my dad to jump-start the car, but I don't think the way he did it was correct. First of all, he connected the +/+ like normal but he also connected -/-. However, I read in the manual afterwards that you are not supposed to connect the the - cable to dead battery but are supposed to ground it to the engine block. Anyways, the way my dad did it worked and my car was up and running.

However, after driving it around for a few minutes, I realized that the radio was not turning on. The climate control works fine and shows on the lcd screen, however pushing the power button for the radio does nothing. It doesn't even ask for a radio code. I'm not sure what could be causing this and would appreciate some suggestions.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
vkanwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 8:41 PM   #2
nfnsquared
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
nfnsquared's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 5,523
Thanks: 9
Thanked 370 Times in 285 Posts
Points: 14,509, Level: 78
Points: 14,509, Level: 78 Points: 14,509, Level: 78 Points: 14,509, Level: 78
Activity: 24.2%
Activity: 24.2% Activity: 24.2% Activity: 24.2%
Pull fuse #7 for one minute (with car off), then put it back in. Then check the radio, it should ask for the code now.
__________________
04 6MT, Navi, WDP, chrome wheels, Clifford Matrix 50.7X RS/Alarm, Huper Optik ceramic tints
nfnsquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 9:25 PM   #3
Hi speed
runnin a little boost
2006 Acura TL
 
Hi speed's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (3)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 33
Thanked 146 Times in 121 Posts
Points: 8,587, Level: 62
Points: 8,587, Level: 62 Points: 8,587, Level: 62 Points: 8,587, Level: 62
Activity: 7.8%
Activity: 7.8% Activity: 7.8% Activity: 7.8%
Pushing the volume button should get it to request the code.
__________________
06 MT Black on Black. Waiting to tune
Hi speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 1:50 PM   #4
DGTC
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Maryland
Age: 36
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 7,623, Level: 58
Points: 7,623, Level: 58 Points: 7,623, Level: 58 Points: 7,623, Level: 58
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I just got the same problem this past weekend on 2005 TL w/Navi. Had to get it jumped and afterwards the radio does not turn on. Pushing the volume button is trying to turn on the radio and it does nothing.

Anyone ever get to the bottom of this? Thanks.
DGTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 2:12 PM   #5
franklinhid
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 25
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 2,528, Level: 30
Points: 2,528, Level: 30 Points: 2,528, Level: 30 Points: 2,528, Level: 30
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
have you checked the fuse?!?
franklinhid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 6:45 PM   #6
EATSLEEPRACE
6SPEED FEVER
Garage is empty, add now
 
EATSLEEPRACE's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC
Age: 26
Posts: 932
Thanks: 14
Thanked 114 Times in 94 Posts
Points: 6,548, Level: 52
Points: 6,548, Level: 52 Points: 6,548, Level: 52 Points: 6,548, Level: 52
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Check fuse...it happened to me
EATSLEEPRACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 6:48 PM   #7
nfnsquared
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
nfnsquared's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 5,523
Thanks: 9
Thanked 370 Times in 285 Posts
Points: 14,509, Level: 78
Points: 14,509, Level: 78 Points: 14,509, Level: 78 Points: 14,509, Level: 78
Activity: 24.2%
Activity: 24.2% Activity: 24.2% Activity: 24.2%
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGTC View Post
I just got the same problem this past weekend on 2005 TL w/Navi. Had to get it jumped and afterwards the radio does not turn on. Pushing the volume button is trying to turn on the radio and it does nothing.

Anyone ever get to the bottom of this? Thanks.
Good grief, read post #2....
__________________
04 6MT, Navi, WDP, chrome wheels, Clifford Matrix 50.7X RS/Alarm, Huper Optik ceramic tints
nfnsquared is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nfnsquared For This Useful Post:
myacuratl05 (08-22-2014)
Old 09-17-2011, 12:58 AM   #8
mrconnecticut
2004 Acura TL
2004 Acura TL
 
mrconnecticut's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterbury, CT
Age: 24
Posts: 304
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Points: 2,892, Level: 32
Points: 2,892, Level: 32 Points: 2,892, Level: 32 Points: 2,892, Level: 32
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
bump!! anyone find the answer to this?!
__________________

mrconnecticut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 7:40 AM   #9
jokerman826
MY WDP TL
Garage is empty, add now
 
jokerman826's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA
Age: 30
Posts: 920
Thanks: 43
Thanked 47 Times in 41 Posts
Points: 6,873, Level: 54
Points: 6,873, Level: 54 Points: 6,873, Level: 54 Points: 6,873, Level: 54
Activity: 0.5%
Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5% Activity: 0.5%
Did you check the fuse? What have you done to try and fix this.
__________________
2004 WDP TL What to do next?
jokerman826 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 11:56 AM   #10
mrconnecticut
2004 Acura TL
2004 Acura TL
 
mrconnecticut's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterbury, CT
Age: 24
Posts: 304
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Points: 2,892, Level: 32
Points: 2,892, Level: 32 Points: 2,892, Level: 32 Points: 2,892, Level: 32
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
i checked the fuses and tried unplugging the battery again
__________________

mrconnecticut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 6:31 PM   #11
osvaldo516
Registered Member
2005 Acura TL
 
osvaldo516's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: oahu hawaii
Posts: 60
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Points: 2,449, Level: 29
Points: 2,449, Level: 29 Points: 2,449, Level: 29 Points: 2,449, Level: 29
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
this just happened to me as well, pulling fuse #7 didn't work, I also swapped with spare radio and nothing either
osvaldo516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 1:42 AM   #12
dcmodels
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dcmodels's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 889
Thanks: 29
Thanked 143 Times in 118 Posts
Points: 9,523, Level: 65
Points: 9,523, Level: 65 Points: 9,523, Level: 65 Points: 9,523, Level: 65
Activity: 13.2%
Activity: 13.2% Activity: 13.2% Activity: 13.2%
This may not be very helpful - but ...

my RDX OM (owner manual) specifically states that the radio must the turned OFF when jump starting, as well as any other accessories (like what?). The OM does not indicate what may happen, but I have found such *warnings* to be given for a reason. You might at least check the TL OM for any similar warnings when jump starting.

Assuming that the radio itself is not damaged, I can only suggest checking all related fuses (or all of them), and try tracing the related wiring for any heat damage - sorry, that is all I can suggest, other than check with the dealer for any similar problems that they may have encountered.

And with the age of this thread, seems like someone would have found an answer by now
__________________
2009 Silver RDX w/o tech: safety wired magnetic Engine oil drain plug | safety wired Oil Filter | safety wired Transfer Case drain/ fill plugs | safety wired Transmission drain plug | Red Line D4/Racing (1:1 mix) ATF | MagneFine magnetic filter in Trans cooler line | MagneFine magnetic filter in Power Steering line | safety wired OEM Radiator drain plug | safety wired rear Differential drain/ fill plugs | Red Line D4 ATF in rear Differential.
dcmodels is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 10:54 AM   #13
cmeghea
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 38
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 1,267, Level: 19
Points: 1,267, Level: 19 Points: 1,267, Level: 19 Points: 1,267, Level: 19
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
2006 TL navi - jump started and radio works intermitently

Quote:
Originally Posted by vkanwar View Post
Hi guys,

I'd appreciate some help on this. I have a 2006 Acura TL base model (non-navi).

I left my car parked for a week while away on vacation. When I got back and tried to turn the car on, I realized the battery had died.

I got some help from my dad to jump-start the car, but I don't think the way he did it was correct. First of all, he connected the +/+ like normal but he also connected -/-. However, I read in the manual afterwards that you are not supposed to connect the the - cable to dead battery but are supposed to ground it to the engine block. Anyways, the way my dad did it worked and my car was up and running.

However, after driving it around for a few minutes, I realized that the radio was not turning on. The climate control works fine and shows on the lcd screen, however pushing the power button for the radio does nothing. It doesn't even ask for a radio code. I'm not sure what could be causing this and would appreciate some suggestions.
I have a somewhat similar problem with my 2006 TL navi manual trans: I had to jump-start the car in August, and since then, while the radio/cd/tape works, the buttons do not respond every time. It sometimes takes me at least 4 repeated pushes on the power button (or tape, or radio) to have it respond and turn the audio on or off. Some other times, but rarely, the buttons work OK. The volume works OK every time, both on the wheel and using the knob. Also, the +/-buttons to change the CDs do not work as they should, i.e. sometimes I do get the CD changed, some other times pushing the +/- button just pauses the CD from playing...
I will try unplugging the fuse and/or unplugging the battery. Any other ideas?
cmeghea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 12:50 PM   #14
mseason
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 88, Level: 1
Points: 88, Level: 1 Points: 88, Level: 1 Points: 88, Level: 1
Activity: 1.0%
Activity: 1.0% Activity: 1.0% Activity: 1.0%
Hi,
I have on '07 tl with nav and had the same problem. I pulled fuse 7... After replacement the nav asked me for a code not the radio. Any other suggestions? My radio is still not turning on or asking me for the radio code. The red theft light is flashing....
mseason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 6:42 PM   #15
kristineregine
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 11, Level: 1
Points: 11, Level: 1 Points: 11, Level: 1 Points: 11, Level: 1
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
hey mseason, this happened to me after a jump. The nav screen will ask for a code to power up the nav but the radio is separate. You have to enter your code that is hopefully in your manual. To do this you need to use the buttons below the cassette player, you will notice they are numbered. Hopefully you have the code!
kristineregine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 6:16 PM   #16
Franco_acura
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 20, Level: 1
Points: 20, Level: 1 Points: 20, Level: 1 Points: 20, Level: 1
Activity: 0.7%
Activity: 0.7% Activity: 0.7% Activity: 0.7%
Help

So I un-plugged fuse #7 and my radio asked for a code again, problem is, when I start typing in my code the radio shuts off. Idk what to do!!!
Franco_acura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 6:16 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2006, acura, block, car, code, display, engine, honda, jump, jumpstart, power, radio, start, starter, turn, wont, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup