Clean Your Transmission Screen! - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > First Generation TL (1996-1998) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2005, 5:05 PM   #1
hrtrworms
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Burlington, NC
Age: 59
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Clean Your Transmission Screen!

I was not aware that the transmission screen could be cleaned or replaced on 1st Gen. TL's. I was quite surprised when I saw an oil pan on the bottom of my transmission. I had always been told that Honda products didn't use a filter. Wrong. The screen is so fine, it might as well be a filter.

My 96 TL with 170,000 miles was experiencing a flare on the 3-4 shift (sometimes), and also in cold weather the transmission sometimes didn't want to go into gear. Cleaning the screen resolved my problems. I purchased a new pan gasket ($13), and cleaned the filter. Extremely easy procedure.

This is a new filter (Note, this is a 2.5 filter). The screen is so fine it is almost transparent. It is visible through the small suction hole. That dimple is behind the screen


Click the image to open in full size.



My screen was really plugged. This is what it looked like after a finger was wiped across the screen.


Click the image to open in full size.



Since they gave me the wrong screen, I cleaned the old one. This worked quite well.

Click the image to open in full size.


It was extremely easy, and totally resolved my shifting problems. Completely! (I guess the ease of this change makes up for the starter mounting). Hope this helps someone with a similar transmission problem.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
hrtrworms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 5:38 PM   #2
WolfpackBill
TL no more!
Garage is empty, add now
 
WolfpackBill's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clemmons, NC
Age: 32
Posts: 761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 7,217, Level: 56
Points: 7,217, Level: 56 Points: 7,217, Level: 56 Points: 7,217, Level: 56
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Awesome info!!! Thanks!!

This thread needs to be stickied!!
WolfpackBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 5:57 PM   #3
Ken1997TL
Senior Moderator
2013 Acura MDX
My Garage
 
Ken1997TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portlandia, Oregon
Posts: 43,068
Thanks: 1,155
Thanked 1,348 Times in 826 Posts
I don't facebook I don't tweet, twitter etc. I am not Linkedin I don't own an Xbox ken1997tl kiloechonovember1
Points: 45,327, Level: 100
Points: 45,327, Level: 100 Points: 45,327, Level: 100 Points: 45,327, Level: 100
Activity: 46.9%
Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9%
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfpackBill
Awesome info!!! Thanks!!

This thread needs to be stickied!!
Ken1997TL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 6:58 PM   #4
cali2.5tl
WDP- lovin' every minute!
Garage is empty, add now
 
cali2.5tl's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: City of Angels
Age: 29
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Points: 8,563, Level: 62
Points: 8,563, Level: 62 Points: 8,563, Level: 62 Points: 8,563, Level: 62
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
hmmmm...sounds rather interesting seeing as how im about to get my tranny flushed on friday at my local dealer... hmm could save me a pretty penny or two....
cali2.5tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 7:13 PM   #5
UnsanePyro
Registered Driver
Garage is empty, add now
 
UnsanePyro's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bristol, Rhode Island
Age: 27
Posts: 2,488
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
You will need to replace all the tranny fluid with this or no?
UnsanePyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 8:53 PM   #6
hrtrworms
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Burlington, NC
Age: 59
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
It takes the same amount of fluid as the normal transmission service. I think it was 3 1/2 quarts.
hrtrworms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 10:50 AM   #7
cambo
OMG! Oh N0ES!
Garage is empty, add now
 
cambo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chantilly, VA
Age: 29
Posts: 611
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,248, Level: 56
Points: 7,248, Level: 56 Points: 7,248, Level: 56 Points: 7,248, Level: 56
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Click the image to open in full size.
its called ATF strainer (item #7 in the pic)
$40.67 from www.acuraautomotiveparts.org
look under AT main valve body
cambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 11:11 AM   #8
cambo
OMG! Oh N0ES!
Garage is empty, add now
 
cambo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chantilly, VA
Age: 29
Posts: 611
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,248, Level: 56
Points: 7,248, Level: 56 Points: 7,248, Level: 56 Points: 7,248, Level: 56
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
www.importec.com has the AT strainer for $39.xx and it comes with the $18 gasket included with it.

if you goto importec.com, look under transmission -> filter kit
cambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 3:01 PM   #9
ride'n96TL
2.5 TL ART
Garage is empty, add now
 
ride'n96TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville,TN
Age: 34
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
can anyone post pictures or directions on how to get to this part, or how to get it off?

I don't recognize this part, even though I've drained/filled my tranny 6 times. But I wasn't looking for this part either. I also have 200K miles should I just buy a new screen/filter or should I just clean mine?
ride'n96TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 11:13 PM   #10
2doe
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
is a flush same as a drain and fill? thanks
2doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 7:03 AM   #11
timo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Watkins Glen, NY
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question 3.2 Tranny filter?

Just aquired a '97 3.2 and thought I should change tranny fluid and filter while I'm at it but: searching importec.com and elsewhere there is no filter listed (as there is for the 2.5). I'd rather not open up the pan until I have everything needed to do the job right. Does the 3.2 tranny have no servicable filter? Thanks for any advice.
timo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 3:26 PM   #12
clune
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: pittsburgh, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
PICS for taking this part off and location pleasssseeee
clune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 3:40 PM   #13
youngTL
Registered Abuser of VTEC
2007 Acura TL
 
youngTL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Age: 30
Posts: 5,902
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 12,872, Level: 74
Points: 12,872, Level: 74 Points: 12,872, Level: 74 Points: 12,872, Level: 74
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2doe
is a flush same as a drain and fill? thanks
With a flush, they get out ALL the fluid and replace it fully. With a drain and fill, you only get 1/3 of the fluid out or something like that. Flush is more expensive, but worth it IMO.
youngTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 8:58 AM   #14
bpjadhav
1998 2.5TL
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Malden, MA
Age: 36
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 6,671, Level: 53
Points: 6,671, Level: 53 Points: 6,671, Level: 53 Points: 6,671, Level: 53
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
The dealership charges $180.00 for a tranny flush while chain outlets like Big10 charge around $100.00 for the same. Is the dealership worth the extra $80.00? Do other stores do a decent job of it? What do you guys recommend?
bpjadhav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 8:51 PM   #15
clune
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: pittsburgh, PA
Age: 39
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If I am correct, the dealership does not do a power flush. Atleast they are not suppose to Per Honda/Acura. They will do a drain and fill 4 times to get all the old transmission fluid out. There are a bunch of posts here to do it yourself and you should definitley use the geniune honda ATF(Lots of posts on this topic also).

Now somebody please give me a location and picture for this screen damnit
clune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 9:17 PM   #16
UnsanePyro
Registered Driver
Garage is empty, add now
 
UnsanePyro's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bristol, Rhode Island
Age: 27
Posts: 2,488
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by clune
If I am correct, the dealership does not do a power flush. Atleast they are not suppose to Per Honda/Acura. They will do a drain and fill 4 times to get all the old transmission fluid out. There are a bunch of posts here to do it yourself and you should definitley use the geniune honda ATF(Lots of posts on this topic also).

Now somebody please give me a location and picture for this screen damnit
Yeah, I have heard that it is best to use the honda ATF, and was expecting an outrageous price when I picked some up, but it was actually pretty reasonable
UnsanePyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 1:02 AM   #17
cambo
OMG! Oh N0ES!
Garage is empty, add now
 
cambo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chantilly, VA
Age: 29
Posts: 611
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 7,248, Level: 56
Points: 7,248, Level: 56 Points: 7,248, Level: 56 Points: 7,248, Level: 56
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnsanePyro
Yeah, I have heard that it is best to use the honda ATF, and was expecting an outrageous price when I picked some up, but it was actually pretty reasonable
$5.15 a quart over here
cambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 11:49 AM   #18
hrtrworms
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Burlington, NC
Age: 59
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngTL
Flush is more expensive, but worth it IMO.
There is a danger in flushing a high mileage transmission that has not been serviced on a regular basis. Be prepared for the possibility of your transmission not working at all.

Somewhere on a newer TL board, the statement was made that once your transmission starts the shift flair thing and the cold weather initial shift problems, it's already too late and you need a new transmission. And that is really why I posted this thread. It was just sort of a fluke that I discovered the possibility of a clogged screen causing this.

After flushing my Accord transmission, it totally refused to do anything. Several people remarked AFTER THE FACT "Oh, that happens sometimes with high mileage transmissions, you need a new transmission." Same thing happened on a friends Dodge van. Ask the people that flush them, and they'll tell you that it's a very real possibility.

My transmission pump was making cavitation noises which indicated something wrong on the suction side of the pump. So in desparation, I took a 12" long 3/8" drill bit, reached through the drain hole, and perforated the filter body and screen ( the transmission was trash already and that wasn't going to hurt anything.) The totally nonfunctional transmission then started working. After removing the transmission, the blockage on the screen was very obvious. The big problem on the Accord is that you have to remove the transmission and break down the case to service the screen. And that's why most Honda product mechanics have never actually seen a Honda transmission screen. It's too labor intensive to just clean the screen and it possibly wouldn't fix a problem anyway. So they replace the entire transmission. However, on our TL's, you don't have to remove the transmission which didn't seem to be common knowledge.


Quote:
Originally Posted by clune
Now somebody please give me a location and picture for this screen dxxxxt
The drain plug is located on the transmission's oil pan, on the very bottom. Remove the pan AFTER removing the drain plug. Immediately under the pan is the filter, bolted directly to the bottom of the valve body. It's the lower most piece on the transmission. Four bolts hold the filter on, and it's pretty obvious which ones they are. No rocket science here. You don't have to remove anything else. The screen inside the filter housing is metal, not delicate, and being metal lends itself to cleaning. I used the intake cleaner because I had it already, and it had the plastic tube to reach inside the filter.

And since my transmission is working, I'm NOT crawling under there for more pictures.
hrtrworms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 10:24 AM   #19
SurfingScotty
2007 6SMT Type-S
Garage is empty, add now
 
SurfingScotty's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colleyville, TX
Age: 33
Posts: 703
Thanks: 27
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Points: 9,589, Level: 65
Points: 9,589, Level: 65 Points: 9,589, Level: 65 Points: 9,589, Level: 65
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrtrworms
There is a danger in flushing a high mileage transmission that has not been serviced on a regular basis. Be prepared for the possibility of your transmission not working at all.

Somewhere on a newer TL board, the statement was made that once your transmission starts the shift flair thing and the cold weather initial shift problems, it's already too late and you need a new transmission. And that is really why I posted this thread. It was just sort of a fluke that I discovered the possibility of a clogged screen causing this.

After flushing my Accord transmission, it totally refused to do anything. Several people remarked AFTER THE FACT "Oh, that happens sometimes with high mileage transmissions, you need a new transmission." Same thing happened on a friends Dodge van. Ask the people that flush them, and they'll tell you that it's a very real possibility.

My transmission pump was making cavitation noises which indicated something wrong on the suction side of the pump. So in desparation, I took a 12" long 3/8" drill bit, reached through the drain hole, and perforated the filter body and screen ( the transmission was trash already and that wasn't going to hurt anything.) The totally nonfunctional transmission then started working. After removing the transmission, the blockage on the screen was very obvious. The big problem on the Accord is that you have to remove the transmission and break down the case to service the screen. And that's why most Honda product mechanics have never actually seen a Honda transmission screen. It's too labor intensive to just clean the screen and it possibly wouldn't fix a problem anyway. So they replace the entire transmission. However, on our TL's, you don't have to remove the transmission which didn't seem to be common knowledge.



The drain plug is located on the transmission's oil pan, on the very bottom. Remove the pan AFTER removing the drain plug. Immediately under the pan is the filter, bolted directly to the bottom of the valve body. It's the lower most piece on the transmission. Four bolts hold the filter on, and it's pretty obvious which ones they are. No rocket science here. You don't have to remove anything else. The screen inside the filter housing is metal, not delicate, and being metal lends itself to cleaning. I used the intake cleaner because I had it already, and it had the plastic tube to reach inside the filter.

And since my transmission is working, I'm NOT crawling under there for more pictures.
Is this for the 3.2 or 2.5?
SurfingScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 2:29 PM   #20
Ken1997TL
Senior Moderator
2013 Acura MDX
My Garage
 
Ken1997TL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portlandia, Oregon
Posts: 43,068
Thanks: 1,155
Thanked 1,348 Times in 826 Posts
I don't facebook I don't tweet, twitter etc. I am not Linkedin I don't own an Xbox ken1997tl kiloechonovember1
Points: 45,327, Level: 100
Points: 45,327, Level: 100 Points: 45,327, Level: 100 Points: 45,327, Level: 100
Activity: 46.9%
Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9% Activity: 46.9%
Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfingScotty
Is this for the 3.2 or 2.5?
The 2.5

Someone with a 3.2 should look under. I havent had time.
Ken1997TL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 7:23 AM   #21
Cornflake
Reppin' the T-Dot!!
Garage is empty, add now
 
Cornflake's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Age: 39
Posts: 1,354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Points: 11,733, Level: 71
Points: 11,733, Level: 71 Points: 11,733, Level: 71 Points: 11,733, Level: 71
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I will be getting a tranny flush done next week. I won't be cleaning mine, I am getting a new filter (MSRP = $100, I pay = $25, through my friend's tranny shop. So I'll let you know how the tranny feels after.
Cornflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 4:07 PM   #22
Adam_Schwartz
Banned
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring, TX
Age: 38
Posts: 3,136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Another awesome thread - this is the VERY thing that happened to my tranny. My tranny would not shift out of 1st gear at low speeds or a stop. After getting the screen cleaned, the tranny began operating like normal again.

But as mentioned above, a full-blown flush was NOT recommended for my tranny since it has 150,000 miles on it. I have always replaced the fluid per Acura's recommendation, but never got the tranny flushed.
Adam_Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 4:21 PM   #23
MichaelBenz
CTS-V Import Slayer
2005 Acura TL
 
MichaelBenz's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (2)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Age: 46
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
IndyCarz
Points: 17,730, Level: 84
Points: 17,730, Level: 84 Points: 17,730, Level: 84 Points: 17,730, Level: 84
Activity: 2.6%
Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6% Activity: 2.6%
Side note....while cleaning your transmission screens....its always a good idea to clean your pipe screens out while you are at it! (lol)
MichaelBenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 10:10 AM   #24
98_2.5_TL
TL Enthusiast
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa
Age: 28
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 6,878, Level: 54
Points: 6,878, Level: 54 Points: 6,878, Level: 54 Points: 6,878, Level: 54
Activity: 0.3%
Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3% Activity: 0.3%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cornflake
I will be getting a tranny flush done next week. I won't be cleaning mine, I am getting a new filter (MSRP = $100, I pay = $25, through my friend's tranny shop. So I'll let you know how the tranny feels after.
the Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price on a transmission flush from your buddy???

haha
__________________
Boston Acoustics Fan
98_2.5_TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 12:50 PM   #25
teekay3001
Htown slab rider
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston T.X.
Age: 28
Posts: 399
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bringing this post back to the forefront for people with transmission issues
teekay3001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 12:50 PM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
1999, accord, acura, atf, clean, cleaned, cleaning, diy, filter, mdx, pump, removal, screen, strainer, transmission

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup