New Owner! TLX SH-AWD Advance

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2015, 10:47 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 157 Likes on 118 Posts
New Owner! TLX SH-AWD Advance

Hey everyone! I have owned a 2001 Acura TL since I was 16 and just graduated college at 23 and have completely upgraded my ride to this beautiful 2015 Acura TLX SH-AWD Advance Graphite Grey Luster with Ebony interior. I will be getting window tint, spoiler, and aero kit within 2 months and I will post actual photos of my ride then!

Coming from a 2nd gen TL my dad owns a 4th gen 2009 TL and I always planned on inherting it when I graduated and he got a new car, but I ended up splurging and getting the new ride for myself. I plan on keeping it 15 years or 250K or so.

My 2 cents: I LOVE IT. I obviously got it fully loaded since I really wanted adaptive cruise control so for that reason got the advance package and love it! With the Lane Keep Assist its a blast for highway driving. I drove it 30 miles in traffic flow changing to about 50mph-75mph without ever touching the gas or brake! People have complained about the dual screens, but I love them and found it helpful once you understood it. I never had a problem with the 4th gen button crazy center stack but like the new approach better.

Would I do it again! Of course. Absolulty no buyers remorse here. This is everything I ever wanted in a car and more!

Thing I really think the TLX needs to be a PERFECT car Some things that I have noticed kind of make me question Acura's engineers:
1) Heads up display. While I have never cared for it as a feature before, the little screen on the instrument cluster gives some great visual effects like navigation turns and such, and poor thing is its just out of sight if your staring at the road, if whatever info is there was used in a HUD that would be pretty nice
2) Folding mirrors. I think its unnecessary, but cool to add effects. Stupid enough its available in the Canadian version but not US