DIY Thread: NSX Steering Wheel/Quick Release/Hub

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2009, 03:09 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 719 Likes on 201 Posts
DIY Thread: NSX Steering Wheel/Quick Release/Hub

After doing quite a bit of research on the this install, some of the instructions were confusing and even conflicting with each other. Additionally, some of the newer steering wheel kits being made available are a bit different from some of the DIY pdf's found on this site. On my previous car, the instructions were pretty straight forward. I'm no electrical expert so I didn't want to try this myself without any help. My friend Larry of Project X Customs (Chicagoland area Performance Shop) stepped up to the plate and installed my steering wheel and we thought it would be nice to create a DIY thread for the greater good of the NSX community.

Installation done by: Project X Customs (http://www.projectxcustoms.com)
Steering Wheel kit provided by: Z1 Performance (http://z1auto.com/)

Z1 Performance is an authorized Vendor of the Works Bell Quick Release, Splash Hub, and also carry a ton of steering wheels. I like dealing with Z1 because they pretty much make the entire process easy. They gave you everything you need, including all the RESISTORS to bypass the airbag light (who wants that annoying airbag light anyways)? Now there are other CHEAPER quick release products out there, but I'm going to warn you that those products are all replicas of the orignal works bell product. DO NOT confuse these products with lesser quality knockoffs. Do you really want to take a chance with an important safety product? Get the Real deal works bell.

Project X Customs pretty much does it all. All kinds of installs, mechanical, forced induction, regular maintenance, and even custom fabrication. You should see the quality of their custom sub boxes, gauge pods, etc!

Now that I'm done with my props, let's move on to the DIY: