z06 paint restoration 90 correction, I need stronger pads for the last 10 percent

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2011, 02:45 PM
Keep'n it clean- Orlando

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
z06 paint restoration 90 correction, I need stronger pads for the last 10 percent

So today I went to work on my brothers z06 that was horribly swirled and marred. After 3 years of ownership the car showed the signed of the lack of care.

Background: I am new to this and I am trying to find out how to get the total 100 percent correction, from swirls to completely flawless, as many people on here show with their details such as Oaks, detailersdomain, and a few others.

Problem: as the pictures show below in direct sunlight and certain angles the swirls and imperfections have been minimized about 90 percent using a 1000 grit polish from "detail addict" and an "orange" uber pad.

question: how do I get the PERFECT correction? Are the imperfections that are still left indicative of needing a more aggressive pad, since I am already using the most aggressive polish I have? Either way on to the pics and please give me all the feed back and info you can... I am trying to become like the best detailers as mentioned above.

Pre wash/polish/wax:

Here you can see how major the swirls were

After the 1000 grit swirls removed, but there still seems to be SOMETHING LEFT SLIGHTLY IN THE PAINT, NOT SURE OF THE TERMINOLOGY... PLEASE INFORM ME.

AFTER THE 1500, THEN 2500 GRIT TO BUFF OUT THE PAINT STILL SEEMS NOT TO HAVE THE LUSTER I WAS AFTER.

ALL THE FOLLOWING ARE THE FINISHED PRODUCT AFTER THE POLISHING WITH ABOUT A 90 PERCENT CORRECTION OBTAINED, AGAIN HOW CAN I GET THE FULL 100 PERCENT CORRECTION?