What to and not to Zaino? + Wheels...

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2006, 09:59 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 150 Likes on 109 Posts
What to and not to Zaino? + Wheels...

I'm going to be trying out Zaino for my first time either tomorrow or this weekend, and was wondering which parts of the car to actually use it on. They say to use it on mostly everything (including chrome, plastic...), but windows too?

And what do you guys use for your rims? I have a tire dressing, but I'm wondering what to use on the actual rims.

I'm pretty much a complete newbie so any help is much appreciated. Thanks.
Old 05-24-2006, 10:23 PM
Driver/Detailer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I'd apply it to all my paint and rims. I'm not sure how it would affect plastic. Some sealants dry darkish, while some dry lightish. The sealant I use dries to a lighter shade, so it's not good for plastic trim. If zaino drys dark, then it' sok on the trim.

Windows... again it depends on the sealant. Some leave streaks, while others are clear. Since Zaino claims to be optically clear, then it should be ok on windows. But again, I'd rather listen to the Zaino users than to myself on this. :p
Old 05-24-2006, 10:24 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You can use Zaino on every exterior surface, though I don't bother on trim and moldings - I use dressings for those. Windows, chrome, grills, emblems, all ok. Some folks even use it on their wheels; which brings us to your next question.

Wheels - I use Poorboys Wheel Sealant. A lot of folks use Zaino, AIO, or whatever sealant they use on their car. I used to do that too but find the actual wheel sealant lasts longer (by virtue of it's higher melting temperature, perhaps). In any event if you don't want to buy another product Z5 or Z2 will work.
Old 05-24-2006, 10:39 PM
Suzuka Master

Thanks! I'll prolly use Zaino on the wheels this time around simply because I have it...I'll look into some other products for next time though.
Old 05-25-2006, 05:20 PM