Should I have my paint professionaly detailed first?

Old 11-22-2012, 03:04 AM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should I have my paint professionaly detailed first?

I bought a used 2012 TL with about 10,000 miles in Belanvoa White Pearl. The car's paint is not in perfect condition; it has some swirls and fine scratches when looked at closely.

I want the car detailed with one step paint correction and a permanent coating like Optimum Opti-Coat 2.0/CQuartz. This way, I only need to carefully wash the car (3 buckets, Grit Guards) to maintain the detailer's paint correction.

As a graduate student, I can only spend about 1.5 hours every weekend to wash the car. Being a daily driver, I don't insist that its paint be in showroom condition. I only want it better than people who take their TLs through automatic car washes.

I neither have the time or passion to detail it myself. I do have all essential supplies for weekly washing. My problem:
  • I only have about $300 to spend for professional detailing. Given my limited budget and that it's pearl white, can I have a professional detailer clean & seal w/Opti-Coat or should I just carefully wash the car myself without detailing the current paint condition?
  • Can anyone recommend an honest, but affordable detailer in the Greater Houston area?

*In the last few years, sealers have faced growing competition from Opti-Coat because sealers only last ~6 months. Opti-Coat acts like another clear coat and is permanent thought it's just as easy to apply as a traditional wax or sealer. This durability means less business for detailers. I've read various posts that justify price gouging on Auto Geek/Autopia because Opti-Coat needs little maintenance. Some detailers charge at least $200 to the cost of detailing as an up-sell.
Old 11-22-2012, 08:09 AM
3G TL/2G MDX Owner

Received 978 Likes on 803 Posts