Need some guidance for NPB

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2010, 05:12 PM
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Need some guidance for NPB

Hey guys - newbie here so any help is greatly appreciated.

First time using a Porter Cable on my NPB TSX and not getting the results I want.

My Process:
Optimum Compound II With Hydrotech Blue Pad
Optimum Polish with Hydrotech Tangerine

After I do the Opt Compound II I can see immediate results with removal of a ton of light swirls and scratches. The paint looks much clearer but there still remain some deeper scratches that just wont come out.

Do you guys think I need to get some heavier cutting pads or a different combination to get some better results? What would you suggest?

It doesn't help that I see all the excellent detailing write ups on this forum and expect better results..even for my first time. Thanks in advance!
Old 04-01-2010, 06:05 PM
Advanced

Thanks Excel!

I know I am going down a dangerous road with detailing. My brother just saw my work and he said it looks fine but I can see the scratches in certain angles. I can see how this gets addicting fast.
Old 04-01-2010, 06:08 PM
Former Sponsor

Received 9 Likes on 2 Posts
Ok, I deleted my previous reply after researching the latest and greatest Hydro tech, lol. (sorry)
Try the orange with the Compound. It appears the blue is more aggressive then the Orange?
Your order of aggressiveness is as follows, from least to most.
Opt Pol/Orange
Opt Cmpnd/Orange
Opt Pol Blue
Opt Cmpnd/Blue
Once you use Blue and/or the compound, chances are your going to need to follow up with the Polish II and a finer pad, which I hope youhave.
Old 04-01-2010, 06:14 PM
Advanced

Originally Posted by exceldetail
Ok, I deleted my previous reply after researching the latest and greatest Hydro tech, lol. (sorry)
Try the orange with the Compound. It appears the blue is more aggressive then the Orange?
Your order of aggressiveness is as follows, from least to most.
Opt Pol/Orange
Opt Cmpnd/Orange