How to properly clean ebony interior?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2008 | 10:17 PM
5th Gear

How to properly clean ebony interior?

I have 2008 TSX with ebony interior and it is such a pain to clean and maintain. I use Lexol leather conditioners and cleaners. The conditioner leaves a streaky residue. I have tried taking a damp microfiber cloth and tried wiping it off to no avail. What do I need to do get a clean, natural look without having to worry about leftover residue? Thanks.
Old 04-30-2008 | 10:52 PM
Pro

I am not a professional detailer, and I could be totally wrong here, but it almost sounds like you're applying too much product. Try to apply much less and rub it in really good. I know that when I first got my TSX, I used Zaino's Z-10, applied WAY too much, and had streaks. Now, I use much less product, and I make sure to really rub it in good, and I only do one section at a time. Try those suggestions, and hopefully that will help

Good luck!

Jeff
Old 04-30-2008 | 11:09 PM
5th Gear

Yeah, maybe I am. Thanks for your input. It's my wife's car and I am really on the fence with the ebony interior, it's just not as classy as parchment. And is a major pain in the arse to clean
Old 05-01-2008 | 11:07 PM
Instructor

I have the ebony in my 2008 TL and I am also wondering if I should have went with the ligher option. I haven't cleaned it yet (had the car for about a month), but plan to do it soon. I was buying some Zaino stuff so I decided to give their leather products a try for when I am ready to clean them.

I don't mind the seats and stuff, but I hate how the black parts near your feet and getting in and out get dirt and coloring on them. I am constantly wiping them with my fingers
Old 05-01-2008 | 11:54 PM
Former Sponsor