How do you clean leather?

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 12:42 AM
spn
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How do you clean leather?

I just bought a used '01 Accord coupe with tan leather and I was wondering how I could clean off that dirty look that tan leather gets. What products do you guys recommend and any methods or advice? I've heard about steam cleaning but I have no idea where I could get a steam cleaner. I've also seen some products but I'm afraid to use them since I have no experience cleaning leather.
Old 08-03-2007, 09:17 AM
Safety Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
To get you started, take a look at Autopia's Car Interior Detailing tutorial.
Old 08-03-2007, 02:28 PM
spn
Cruisin'

So how much leather does a bottle of Sonus usually treat? Also are there any other good brands cleaners/conditioners that I can get locally(I live in San Diego)?
Old 08-03-2007, 10:35 PM
Instructor

Lexol is sold at many auto parts stores.
Old 08-04-2007, 01:41 PM
spn
Cruisin'

Have any you guys heard of using steam to clean leather?
Old 08-04-2007, 10:37 PM
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by spn
Have any you guys heard of using steam to clean leather?
I wouldn't try steaming it 'coz you might dry the oils out of the leather and it will start to crack. The best (and cheapest) was I found is the tried and true Woolite (Or Zero) and Water. I mixed 1 part Woolite and 6 parts water on a spray bottle. Spray the surface and let it sit for a few seconds then scrub with a MF towel. I was hesitant to do this at first but I was amazed that the leather was restored to a like new look with a matte finish. Try this on the worn parts of the leather seat and steering wheel. I used a yellow MF cloth and it was close to being olive green by the time I was done 'coz of the dirt.
Old 08-05-2007, 02:00 AM
spn
Cruisin'

Just curious, which kind of Woolite did you use? Also did you condition the leather afterwards.