Help me fix my new, tree-gunked outdoor car?

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2009 | 09:35 AM
Advanced

Help me fix my new, tree-gunked outdoor car?

So I picked up my brand new TSX about a month ago, and foolishly assumed the dealer had waxed it well, such that it wouldn't need any work for at least a couple of months. Wrong!

Here's my biggest problem: I live in an apartment, with no driveway or outside hose (can't regularly wash it myself), and the car lives outside 24/7 under a giant honking tree. That drops yellow pollen stuff on it. Which mixes with water spots (it's been raining 5-6 days a week in New England), and gets sticky.

Also, I am a very new newbie car person, so I don't want to do any risky processes that might permanently screw up my beautiful new (vortex blue) paint. Nor do I have any machines, like buffers etc.

What can I do (that is TOTALLY idiot-proof) to get some of the worst tree gunk/water spots off the car and keep them from sticking again? Would a wash/clay/wax be enough, or would I need some sort of paint cleaner? I am really, really nervous about scratching the paint by applying a polish or other abrasive incorrectly.

Also, which is worse - letting the car sit, gunky, for weeks at a time, or running it through a ("touch free") commercial car wash?

Let me know if pics would help, to show the extent of the (now fairly minimal) damage!

I don't care if the car looks less-than-ideal now, as long as it's not sustaining permanent damage that a good detail won't be able to fix 1 or 2 years from now (when I will move somewhere with a garage, and find a pro detailer like you guys!).
Old 07-26-2009 | 11:27 AM
Instructor

Cleaners that dont touch the car aren't that bad for quick cleans. Also Optimum NR + claying + sealant probably would be good. I imagine in your case sealant > waxing since you want longevity over sexy wet shine.
Old 07-26-2009 | 12:19 PM
Former Sponsor