Car freshly painted, how do I protect and wax her?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2006, 03:01 AM
CL smashin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car freshly painted, how do I protect and wax her?

I just got my 1st gen painted and I want to wash and wax/polish her before she sees any more driving, but how do I go about this? I've read somewhere that Zaino isn't the best choice when first polishing a freshly painted car, but I'm a noob at detailing since I didn't really care for the paint as much as I do now (previous owner didn't take care of the paint, let alone the car for that matter). I want to protect the paint as much as possible. I've been reading some threads in this forum but I'm not too sure which way to go because like I said, the paint is only barely a week old and I don't want to mess it up, especially since the paint is black (Nighthawk Black Pearl).

Also, I already have a small scratch on the hood and looks like it's on the clearcoat only because it looks like a white hair, how do I fix that? In general, how exactly do you buff out a scratch?

Any help would be very much appreciated. I've searched around and haven't found anything really clear. Thanks.
Old 08-17-2006, 07:26 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 223 Likes on 184 Posts
You don't do anythng to a new painted car for at least 30 days. The paint & clearcoat need some time to cure & bond to the car. After that you can use whatever you want. Zaino is fine to use.
Old 08-17-2006, 03:27 PM
The Old Grey Whistle Test

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
Newly re- painted vehicle-

b) Newly re- painted vehicle-