Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PICS! Cleared out my headlights using DIYs on this forum! 3G Garage #G-046

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2006, 04:08 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
PICS! Cleared out my headlights using DIYs on this forum! 3G Garage #G-046

GOtta thank 'PPLAPW' and 'subinf' for the info. I read both their DIY's and used their insight. I am just adding my own insight into the job here. I started at 2p and finished at 6p. So 4 hours from bumper off to bumper back on. Gotta say that I'm not that good with my hands but I followed the both instructions and warnings and this is what I got.

Oh... and get some damned gloves. I had these craftsman work gloves. They saved me from many scrapes, cuts, and burns! and be patient... i wasn't and almost screwed up many times.

Here's some pics on the job.

Before:

First things first. .gotta take off the bumber. I just clicked on the link that PPLAPW gave in his DIY.

I didn't really know how to get around this without bending these metal clips ... So I just kinda forced it... Didn't break anything thank god but a piece of the bumper is clipped under this somehow.

After that clip deal, taking off the bumper was a piece of cake. I used a very thin and long screw drive to unclip some of the hooks one at a time, going from the corner of the bumper to the center.

Taking off the bumber took about an hour... b/c I was trying to follow the instructions as I went. It was like everytime I looked back at the instructions there was a new clip that I missed! ha

After the bumper taking out each headlight had its own set of problems. On the right side,the Wiper Fluid Reservoir was blocking my ratchet so I had to unbolt the two bolts I circled and just loosened the one the arrow is pointing too. Luckily every bolt on this job is 10mm so no need for switching.