My paint restoration journey

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2017, 01:00 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 232 Likes on 160 Posts
My paint restoration journey

Hi Everyone,

Introduction
Last weekend, I completed a long overdue paint restoration on my 2005 NBP Acura TL. I wanted to create this post and share with you some of the products, tips, and tricks that I used. Like many vehicle owners with NBP paint, swirls and spiderweb scratches are a pain in the butt to remove and, if not treated properly, will return within a short period of time. I've mixed and matched various polishes and pads from 3M, Meguiars, Chemical Guys... you name it. After several less-than-satisfactory paint restoration attempts, I was becoming annoyed. I'm by no means a professional, but I like to think that I know a thing or two about detailing with a Porter Cable. I was trying to figure out what the best combination of polishes, pads, waxes, sealants, etc. would produce the best results.Then, I came across the following article from about seven years ago:

2006 Acura TL in Nighthawk Black Pearl (part 1) | Ask a Pro Blog

This article is a 4 part series written by Todd Cooperider, specifically giving instructions for restoring the Honda NBP paint. To make things even better, Todd owns a 2007 Acura TL Type S and uses that vehicle for testing most of his products. You can rest assured, that this dude knows what he is talking about. A client came to him asking him to fully detail his 2006 Acura TL. Todd outlines each and every step from first wash to final wipe down of how to properly detail a TL. I read this article and learned so many unique tips and tricks that I never knew before. He really helped me understand all of the things I was doing wrong, even during my weekly car washes. I highly recommend reading the article in full.

Before
Here are a few hood pictures, outlining how my paint looked before I completed the full detail. Notice all of the spiderwebbing that occurred.

Wash & Clay Bar