Sponsored by:

Keep or sell - 3G Type-S

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2017, 02:12 PM
Pro

Received 102 Likes on 91 Posts
Keep or sell - 3G Type-S

Hey all,

Looking to get some feedback for a problem that I have, although I must admit it's a nice problem to have.

I've been working overseas for the past 4 years and my Type-S has been with me the whole time.

I've been offered a 2-year assignment in China and have been given 3 options regarding my car:

1) Ship it to China with the rest of my belongings at the employer's expense (The car meets the Chinese regulations for emissions)
2) Ship it back home at the employer's expense, and store it free of charge for the next 2 years
3) Sell the car, pocket the cash and add it to the new car fund when I eventually move back home

The car currently has 54K miles and has held up very well. I stil love driving it and looking at it (yes I still look back at it when I walk away lol), so I'm still undecided on what to do.

I'm moving to a major city in China, where public transport is cheap and plentiful and driving is a nightmare, so I'm not sure if I would actually bother driving the car, plus I'd be paying for gas//insurance/maintenance on a car that I would barely use.

Option 2 seemed attractive, since I won't have to pay for shipping/storage fees. Only downside is they'll basically store the car in a garage for 2 years without taking care of it, so I'll probably have to shell out a few hundred bucks to get it up to code with new fluids, battery, tires, and probably other things I'm not thinking of right now.

Option 3 may be the least attractive and most difficult to pull off. I'm currently in the Middle East where Acura isn't a well known brand (with the exception of the UAE), so I probably wouldn't get as much money for it as I would back home (or maybe if I sold it in China?), unless I sell it to another foreigner who is familiar with Acura.