Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to tell if 105K service was done?

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2015, 03:27 PM
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to tell if 105K service was done?

I just picked up a 07' type s with 111K on the clock. The carfax has regular services noted, but nothing about the 105K service. The only things listed are oil changes, alignments, etc...

The serpentine belt looks fine, there are no leaks that I can see without pulling the timing cover, the pullies are not leaking, the parts are not super clean nor super dirty. No bearing whine/play, overheating issues, or noisy valves. My brake pads are a bit thin, I do not think they were done in the last year or so.

I am an experienced DIY mechanic, and have modded/worked on several hondas and jeeps. I do not want to wait for my timing belt/pulley failure to kill my engine. Should I bite the bullet and do the work? The Acura stealership said that if I could not find a record, then they recommend it without looking at the car........ typical.

Any tail tail signs? All the parts so far are oem as far as I can tell. Thanks!
Old 11-04-2015, 03:33 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 8,744 Likes on 6,746 Posts
take of the Timing belt cover and take a look. That's really one of the most surefire ways
Old 11-04-2015, 03:41 PM
Racer

Received 86 Likes on 55 Posts
The waterpump should shine with 6K on it...I really doubt it was done, as its a good added value when selling a car that just barely passed the scheduled maintenance point.
Old 11-04-2015, 03:46 PM
3rd Gear

^ That is what I was thinking. Every oil change was on the carfax, but no $1000+ major service? I will start sourcing the parts listed in the 105k sticky here. Funny thing is the valves are not noisy at all, and the plugs are no more than 2 years old. Seems the PO was so-so.
Old 11-04-2015, 03:49 PM
Registered Bunny

Received 1,073 Likes on 892 Posts
Originally Posted by MrCleanTX