Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Decisions: TL vs. TSX

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2014, 10:42 PM
Advanced

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Decisions: TL vs. TSX

Hey guys, I'm new to Acurazine, but I've been hanging out over at TSXclub.com because I've been looking at upgrading my 98 Prelude to a TSX. However, they seem to be pretty hard to come by (I'm looking specifically for an 06-08 TSX 6 speed, preferably black interior, with under 100,000 miles - yeah, so I'm picky).

Since the TSXs seem hard to come by, I'm thinking about broadening my search a bit to include 04-08 TLs with the same qualifications (6 speed, etc.) Anyway, I posted the same thread over at TSXclub to get their perspective on the differences between the TSX and the TL, but now I want to do the same thing here to get the TL owner's perspective. Let me know what you think...

By the way, I'm in Pensacola, FL.

I was able to drive an auto version of the TSX and the TL, and I like the TL I drove much more. Overall it felt more solid and quality. I loved the slight growl/vibration that the V6 had just idling...it felt good coming from my 4cyl Prelude. It seemed to handle pretty flat, although I didn't get to push it hard - just normal driving around town. And I really enjoyed having some extra torque on tap. But overall it just felt really big.

The TSX I drove, just to be fair, had been in at least one accident, and it had some other mechanical issues, so it may not have been a fair comparison. But Like I said, it was all I could find in the area to test drive. The car definitely fit me better, and it felt lighter, but it seemed to have a lot of body roll. I've been told that the 6 speed has stiffer suspension than the automatic, so that may be fixed if I could just find a manual to drive. It wasn't real gutsy, but I'm not expecting that in the TSX. I know it'll be a little slower than my Prelude. And the interior just seemed a little more chintzy, but still well thought out.