Sponsored by:

Acura TL Tint Help, Please

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2009, 07:59 PM
9th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Acura TL Tint Help, Please

Hey -

I am new to car modifications and would like to know if a 2004 Acura TL would look good with 25% tint? I am thinking about doing this. Also, the tint shop will charge 200 for this, but it costs $120 more for felt applied for the tint.

Is it worth it to do this?

Has anyone gotten felt and had problems?

Has anyone gotten scratches from not using felt?

What is the difference, if any, aesthetically?

Thanks for your help.

Sincerely,

The Acura TL Newbie
Old 02-20-2009, 08:15 PM
New shoes on my

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Tints for the most part will always look good unless they're poorly done, or if it's crappy film that has faded, peeled, bubbled or cracked over time.

As for the felt, just do a search and you'll see that it's necessary. Some people on here use mole skin. When I was at the tint place, before I even got to ask about the felt, the guy recomended it, as many Acura's, BMW's Merc's, Audi's, etc seem to be having the scratching problem due to the plastic fins inside the door. I don't know exactly what felt he used, but after 6 months, mostly late summer, fall then cold winter, I havn't seen them peeling up or leaving any glue residue.

Edit: I just noticed the guy wants $120 for the felt. Tell him to shove it up his ass. The tint place I went to did it for free, so I tipped the guy an extra $10. You can buy the mole skin kits, and install it yourself really easily for around like $20

Last edited by mglax13; 02-20-2009 at 08:18 PM.
Old 02-20-2009, 08:25 PM
Instructor

make sure it is non metallic if you have navi, radar, or plan to use your cellphone since the metallic one interferes with the connection, service, etc...
Old 02-20-2009, 09:18 PM
Safety Car

Received 133 Likes on 129 Posts
I had a high end place tint my 07 TL-S and guaranteed it would NOT scratch.

IT DID, use Moleskin Sir