AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community

AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community (https://acurazine.com/forums/)
-   3G TL (2004-2008) (https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-tl-2004-2008-93/)
-   -   Is the 6MT Slave Cylinder Delay Valve Delete Harmful? (https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-tl-2004-2008-93/6mt-slave-cylinder-delay-valve-delete-harmful-980635/)

JesseX 06-29-2019 12:04 PM

Is the 6MT Slave Cylinder Delay Valve Delete Harmful?

1 Attachment(s)
Hello everyone. I'm a college student who has had a 6MT 3G TL for quite some time. I love the car but holy crap I feel like a newb every time I shift from 1st to 2nd. My other shifts are usually okay, but 1st to 2nd is always bumpy. The only way I ever get it to shift smoothly is if I baby it when I disengage the clutch, but then that ends up making me drive super slowly haha.

I'm seeing that there is a valve that delays engagement of the clutch, and I'm interested in removing it. However, I found this thread on a Civic forum (link attached) where a user wrote that

"You guys do realize that this valve keeps the pressure from blowing the seals over time in upstream part of the system right? It's there to control the pressure feedback when the pressure plate springs release. With it out there is a pulse of high pressure back into the system that puts a lot of extra pressure on the clutch master cyl seals. This valve controls that flow to even out the upstream pressure. Honda puts it there for a reason. This lil trick has been around for a while and I have personally replaced failed parts because of it. It's not like the engineers at Honda put extra crap in there just to hinder performance on the car. If this was a reliable way to run the system i'm sure they wouldn't have included it. By doing this mod you will prob see premature seal failure and will prob end up sitting on the side of the road when the seals fail and the clutch won't engage. Just some food for thought."