2016 RLX Hybrid inquiries

Old 03-31-2017, 05:45 PM
Racer

Received 58 Likes on 38 Posts
2016 RLX Hybrid inquiries

Perhaps many here won't find this absurd/entertaining for evaluating the veracity of car dealers.

I've been making inquiries for a 2016 CPO/used and refuse to pay the huge depreciation on any new car, again!

I inquired about one that APPEARS to be exactly what I'm looking for and this dealer heralds the marketing/sales tools provided by KBB plastered all over their ad...Value...Fair Market Value...Retail Selling Value..Low Mileage...
BUT! The estimator reveals a PURCHASING Value $12.5K LESS than their asking price! On questioning this "Oh, we do our own pricing, KBB is simply a marketing tool"! Everything else they provide is valid.
Why sure, ignore the APR & total number of payments on the contract, it's ONLY $300/mo!...forever.
Old 03-31-2017, 10:27 PM
Torch & Pitchfork Posse

Received 1,806 Likes on 793 Posts
A dealer can set whatever price he wants. KBB is a guide but does not dictate cost. If he feels supply and demand warrants the cost, more power to him. But the longer that car sits in inventory and overhead, the more eager to sell he will become. He is betting someone wants the car more than you.

The only way to follow a fixed price guide is to use a purchasing service where the price is negotiated and determined before you even see the car. Something like Carvana.

And considering there are slim pickins on 2016 CPO SH (with your color combo) you have less leverage. In fact you have competition on this very forum.
Old 04-01-2017, 03:22 AM
Racer

Received 62 Likes on 38 Posts