In vehicle WiFi Tethering questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2019, 04:21 PM
Drifting

Received 803 Likes on 528 Posts
In vehicle WiFi Tethering questions

I searched, but I'm not very good at using the correct terms, and didn't find what I was looking for here.
If there is another thread that already has my info, please direct me or move this thread. Thanks!

So, in my quest to make sure I had everything set properly to get the latest (missing) system update, (which I later received an email saying is delayed), I came across the WiFi Hotspot tethering settings. I have it turned on, and can connect my cell phone via WiFi to the car.

Questions:
1. Why would I want to do this, unless i was very short on my monthly cell phone data plan?
2. Does it cost? How much? Or is it free for a limited period of time? If so how long? (Somewhere I read it is AT&T, but I use Verizon)
3. Is there any advantage or disadvantage to leaving it set as "enabled" or "disabled"? (or is it "active and "inactive"?)
4. Is this somehow a better way to get the eventual system updates?

I've read about these in vehicle WiFi systems but never really understood the purpose. other than to create a WiFi hotspot. I assume most folks these days have a data plan on their phones.

Thanks for any enlightenment!!

Last edited by JB in AZ; 02-16-2019 at 04:25 PM.
Old 02-16-2019, 06:11 PM
Drifting

Received 586 Likes on 432 Posts
AFAIK the "tethering" option is to allow your infotainment system to connect to the internet using your cell phone's data plan. This would be useful for updates, for instance, if you don't have access to an external WiFi signal.

AFAIK you don't need to create a local WiFi hotspot with your phone to make this work; you just need to connect the phone via Bluetooth ( or USB? ). But I could be wrong.

Creating a local WiFi hotspot with your phone and then connecting the car to the hotspot as a client should also work.