Crossover Market for expected 2018 purchasers!

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2018, 08:10 PM
Instructor

Received 39 Likes on 27 Posts
Crossover Market for expected 2018 purchasers!

Thought I would start a thread since there is likely many others in the same boat as me in that we are looking to purchase a vehicle in this segment in 2018. It would be good to compare our thoughts on the various vehicles. Although we don't know the finals specs of the RDX as yet, we can anticipate what they will be since the vehicle appears to be almost production ready. We can fill in as we learn more information.

I have been shopping around for about 3 months now. I swear, I have been into almost every car dealership looking at their crossovers. I'll offer some more insight when I have some more time, but for the time being some of the cars I have test driven and looked at are the kia Sorrento SX Turbo, Mazda cx-5, Honda CR-V touring, Benz GLC 300, Lexus NX 300, BMW X3. Quite the range of vehicles, I know. I started out my search with non-premium vehicles and slowly moved my way up towards the premium market.

Few thoughts since I have some time right now:

Lexus NX - I personally don't mind the predator front so in my opinion the exterior is really nice. However, inside is where the vehicle lacks. To get the heads up display you need to upgrade to the f sport 3 which means the car is going to be pricey!! (I believe it went over $70K canadian when i priced it). No Apple carplay or android auto either. The biggest drawback was the size of the vehicle. It was just so TINY! Anyone over 6ft would not fit comfortably in the driver seat imo. The trunk is really tight as well (correct me if I am wrong, but I believe it has the smallest trunk in the crossover segment). Just seemed like my money would not be best spent on this vehicle.