Technology Get the latest on technology, electronics and software…

Transferring contacts from a Blackberry to Android

Old 05-10-2011, 05:44 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 740 Likes on 309 Posts
Transferring contacts from a Blackberry to Android

I have a BB Torch (AT&T) right now and decided to get another phone so I can separate business from pleasure. At first I was going to use the new phone number as the work phone, but too many people have my original number so I decided to use the new phone number as my personal phone so I can leave the BB home when I don't want to get bothered with work related stuff when home or out. I picked up a Motorola Atrix (AT&T). I'm a newb to the Drois OS, so I'm still trying to get comfortable with the phone.

I'm trying to transfer all my contacts that I have on my BB and transfer them to the Atrix but I have no idea how to do it. I have a Gmail account, and was told I can use the Google sync to do it, which I tried, but it didn't work. I tried copying the contact file using BB's desktop manager, but it won't save the file to the kind of file needed to sync with outlook.

I'm lost. Help?
Old 05-10-2011, 05:55 PM
Safety Car

Received 295 Likes on 258 Posts
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kt_-q...layer_embedded

Get the app: http://www.google.com/mobile/sync/

Do you have your BB contacts synced to Outlook already? I'm not sure if BB Desktop Manager is able to create .vcf or .csv files but you need Outlook to export your contacts to a .vcf or .csv file. You can then place this .vcf or .csv file to your SD Card or import it into your Google Contacts in GMail.