Technology Get the latest on technology, electronics and software…

Microsoft: Windows 8 News and Discussion Thread

Old 03-29-2011, 07:38 PM
Sanest Florida Man

Received 10,277 Likes on 6,227 Posts
Post Microsoft: Windows 8 News and Discussion Thread

I guess this is as good of a time as any to start this thread. I've been holding back for quite a few months but the leaks keep coming making it more and more interesting.

So here's what we know so far. There should be some BIG changes. Steve Ballmer was asked during an interview a few months back what he thought Microsoft's riskiest bet will be and he said "the next version of windows." Not Bing, or Kinect or Windows Phone but good ol' Windows.

First it's going to run on ARM processors (those are the chips that most of the smartphones are based off of) which means it's going to run on thin tablets. Now the rumor is that MS will be ditching the normal Windows Explorer UI for these tablets go with a touch-friendly UI codenamed "Mosh" similar to what's on the ZuneHD and Windows Phone Platforms. The WP7 UI design is called "Metro" because it was supposedly based off of city street signs. Also expect this Metro font to appear throughout normal windows 8 as well. There's already screenshots of the next version of Office picking up the Metro font and the installer for Windows 8 is in the Metro font, don't expect it to end there. They've also redesigned the front page of their website with the Metro design.