Repair or go through insurance?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2014, 06:38 PM
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Repair or go through insurance?

Hello guys,

My girlfriend needs to get some paint repair work done on her 2011 Acura TSX. There is no dent or body damage, but there are significant scrapes on the right side of her rear bumper and a small scrape on the lower right of her trunk.

The bumper has some small areas where metal is showing, and the trunk scrape is barely (if at all) felt by the fingernail.

She was quoted at over $1100 from one franchise-type body shop and I thought the price was a bit ridiculous, but I am not experienced with body shop pricing. I am going to attempt to get some more quotes throughout the week (it is tough due to us both working)... but...

Does this seem reasonable to you guys? I attached the pictures to this thread. If it is anything over $600 I am assuming it would be best for her to through insurance? For those who have went through insurance for such repairs, did you premium go up a lot?

Thank you.

Old 08-23-2014, 07:52 PM
Old Guy

Received 161 Likes on 141 Posts
That does sound a little high, but it might depend on where you're located. Same for insurance, as the rules that dictate how badly they can screw you for filing a claim vary widely from state to state. I'd start with the dealer if you don't have a word of mouth reference, then get a few other quotes. I wouldn't fool around with filing a claim because technically, if they won't allow a comprehensive claim (no deductible), it will be an at fault claim for her.
Old 08-23-2014, 09:06 PM
ceb
Suzuka Master

Received 1,276 Likes on 951 Posts
Step 1 - go to Autozone and buy a tub of polishing compound and a microfiber rag.

Step 2 - wash the car and very gently use the polishing compound on the affected areas.

Step 3 - take new photos and post them here.