Octane Requirement

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2009, 04:58 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Octane Requirement

I'm new to this site and in the market to purchase a TSX to replace my aging Accord. I've heard so many say that 91 octane is required. But, while browsing the Acura website under the heading of "Features", and I print out the features for any item it will also print out a few extra pages with 25 explanations.

19. Octane - RL, TL, RDX, MDX
Using gasoline with an octane lower than 91 octane may cause damage to the engine. Please consult owner's manual for details.

20. Octane - TSX
Gasoline with an octane rating lower than 91 may be used, with reduced performance. Use of a gasoline with a pump octane number less than 87 can lead to engine damage.

So from reading this I would assume that using 87 would cause no harm to the engine. I have been using 87 octane in my '01 MDX for the last 7 years with no ill effects. Highway mileage during the summer at 65 mph yields 25-27 mpg. I was told by Acura Corporate that 91 was only required while towing or driving with heavy loads and flooring it. I have plenty of normal power and never knocks.

This info is not normally viewable on the website, only if I print it out. Has anyone done a comparison as to if there is any mileage loss?
Old 02-18-2009, 06:03 AM
it's a car-drive it

Received 262 Likes on 199 Posts
I also use regular gas on my tsx-I am a conservative mostly highway driver. Get between 32-36MPG with no loss of performance or power after 70,000+miles. I say-use what works for you.
Old 02-18-2009, 09:01 AM
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts