Input please! Looking at 2011 tax wagon with 128k miles

Old 03-17-2017, 11:41 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Input please! Looking at 2011 tax wagon with 128k miles

Hello! Looking at a 2011 tax wagon w/ tech package with 128k miles. 1 owner being sold by it from a used car dealer (non-dealer). Car does not have service records as it was bought at auction. So far known issues are stereo works but the screen is dark (doesn't work) and car needs new brakes all the way around. Both items I am told will be fixed before I buy it. Price is $11k. Question for the experts (you - I am not that technical): what should i look for / ask? is there a timing belt on this car which needs to be replaced at certain intervals? I bought a used TL as a place holder a few months ago and it runs great but needs front bushings, motor mounts, and a few other minor things - I'm selling it b/c I need more room...SO, wanted to see what I should be on the look out for! MANY THANKS in advance. Oh, the seller won't let me take the car off the lot to my mechanic, but I can bring my mechanic to the car (which won't happen - my mechanic is too busy being an awesome mechanic to his other customers) Thanks again!
Old 03-17-2017, 01:48 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 162 Likes on 133 Posts
it has a chain, not a belt so that shouldn't be an issue.
They are pretty reliable cars for the most part.
Old 03-17-2017, 10:16 PM
Instructor

Received 35 Likes on 32 Posts
Really, there isn't much to look out for except the basics: Check the oil level and color. Make sure the transmission shifts smoothly up and down. Make sure the driveline is tight(no funny vibrations or clunks). Lastly, check all the electrics by hitting the blinkers, headlights, and playing with the radio. Oh and the very last thing is to make sure the keyless entry works and the power locks. These cars like to eat up door lock actuators.

If it drives great, don't hesitate, it is a Honda afterall.
The following users liked this post: