2G TSX Chat, Chit, and General Info Thread - Page 605 - AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community



2G TSX Chat, Chit, and General Info Thread

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2017, 07:33 AM   #24161
Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
justnspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73,363
Thanked 12,890 Times in 9,534 Posts
we just found out Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson and the TSX has dieded
justnspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 07:40 AM   #24162
Moderator
 
cu2wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Dirty H-Town, Amerikkka
Posts: 14,845
Thanked 3,313 Times in 2,372 Posts
All on the same day too!

Curse you, vengeful deities!
cu2wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 04:04 PM   #24163
Registered Member
 
MC MiYoung3269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ㅎouston, ㅌexas
Age: 21
Posts: 3,339
Thanked 976 Times in 697 Posts
wat
MC MiYoung3269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 05:51 PM   #24164
ROTAREDOM
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 27
Posts: 5,600
Thanked 1,448 Times in 1,031 Posts
Alright guys, I'm moving on to my next project. I am going to semi-finish my basement. Im somewhat on a budget, and I'm looking to complete everything for ~$3-4K. Instead of putting up drywall we plan to paint the cinder blocks white, and also paint the ceiling black (kinda how some restaurants have an industrial look with exposed ducking etc..). For the floor we plan to put down some dark vinyl "wood" planks. I'm obviously going to DIY and I'm pulling inspiration from these.








So anyway, with that said.. I'm kinda lost as to what I should do to cover my electrical. I've seen some people put shutters, and others put pallets up, but my stupid I-beam splits the electrical components and I'm not sure what I can do to cover it (maybe put a massive painting of Justin in a thong??) Idk, thought yall douchers may have some good ideas.

ssjoeboe9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 08:48 PM   #24165
Moderator
 
cu2wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Dirty H-Town, Amerikkka
Posts: 14,845
Thanked 3,313 Times in 2,372 Posts
You mean how you have stuff on left and right of the beam?

The shit on the left looks to be "non-vital" copper, like TV coax and phone/data. You could probably reroute that all over to the right side without much difficulty.

I'm not a huge fan of painted cinder block, personally. Reminds me of bad times in the wrestling room in high school (I didn't wrestle, if you know what I mean).

I got nothing better to add. Enjoy your torture room.
cu2wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 08:56 PM   #24166
ROTAREDOM
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 27
Posts: 5,600
Thanked 1,448 Times in 1,031 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cu2wagon View Post
You mean how you have stuff on left and right of the beam?

The shit on the left looks to be "non-vital" copper, like TV coax and phone/data. You could probably reroute that all over to the right side without much difficulty.

I'm not a huge fan of painted cinder block, personally. Reminds me of bad times in the wrestling room in high school (I didn't wrestle, if you know what I mean).

I got nothing better to add. Enjoy your torture room.

LMFAO.. I think you're right, prolly can route that ish to the other side. As for painted cinder blocks... I know. It's not my forever home so I don't wanna put $15k into it, but I'd like to have something better than just bare wall. I figured it was a happy medium for price and comfort, especially since it does't require much skill like putting up drywall.
ssjoeboe9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 09:31 PM   #24167
Moderator
 
cu2wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Dirty H-Town, Amerikkka
Posts: 14,845
Thanked 3,313 Times in 2,372 Posts
That said... My current place has some fancy ass rich people paint on some of the walls. It's Ralph Lauren branded and called something stupid like "suede" or something. Whatever. It's brown and sandpapery. Real textured. I don't love it but I don't hate it. I certainly wouldn't have chosen to buy it. Mainly because I'm not a candyassed rich foo-foo.

Buuuuttt... I wonder how something like that would fare on your cinder blocks. I just feel like a gloss or semi-gloss will make it feel prison-y. Might consider something with a bit of depth to give it a bit of panache (that's one of them rich people words).

Double buuuuttt... Looking at that last picture of your punishment room... Is that moisture in the mortar? If so, I wonder if that'll fuck with the paint adherence?
cu2wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 09:32 PM   #24168
Moderator
 
cu2wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Dirty H-Town, Amerikkka
Posts: 14,845
Thanked 3,313 Times in 2,372 Posts
You should just nail up some 1-by and then hang pegboard on all the walls. Nearly infinite configuration possiblity for whatever you want.
cu2wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 09:33 PM   #24169
Moderator
Chapter Leader (South Florida Region)
iTrader: (6)
 
rockstar143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57,358
Thanked 12,923 Times in 9,631 Posts
I was gonna suggest bamboo rolls...
rockstar143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 09:33 PM   #24170
Moderator
 
cu2wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Dirty H-Town, Amerikkka
Posts: 14,845
Thanked 3,313 Times in 2,372 Posts
Plus it'll give you good places to anchor your BTK restraints.
cu2wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 05:47 AM   #24171
ROTAREDOM
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 27
Posts: 5,600
Thanked 1,448 Times in 1,031 Posts
There's a little bit of moisture, but not significant, supposedly there is a multi-surface filler/primer that you spray on before you paint that helps with absorption, and adherence of the paint. They said it ins't a "barrier" for water intrusion, but acts as a mild sealer.. so iunno. It's never been wet in my basement since I have been here so I think it should be "ight" as the kids say.

Agreed on the gloss/semi gloss finish looking like a prison, hoping to get something like a matte finish. But it's all in the details. I think you just gotta put up the right type of lighting/ furniture/ fake plants to make it look better. Prolly the vinyl floors will help with that too.
ssjoeboe9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 06:51 AM   #24172
Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
justnspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73,363
Thanked 12,890 Times in 9,534 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cu2wagon View Post

I'm not a huge fan of painted cinder block, personally. Reminds me of bad times in the wrestling room in high school (I didn't wrestle, if you know what I mean).
that was the best thing ive read all year.
holy shit, it's so fucking funny cuz i was on the involuntary wrestling team too
justnspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 06:54 AM   #24173
Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
justnspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73,363
Thanked 12,890 Times in 9,534 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cu2wagon View Post
. Looking at that last picture of your punishment room...
that's what I called Jeremy's bedroom
justnspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 07:16 AM   #24174
Moderator
 
thoiboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 28,110
Thanked 4,727 Times in 3,765 Posts
The rule of thumb for wires is if you don't think you need it, Just cut it
thoiboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 07:19 AM   #24175
Moderator
 
thoiboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 28,110
Thanked 4,727 Times in 3,765 Posts
Real talk though. Just temporarily move all that coax and Ethernet on the left to paint behind it and them install a server enclosure there or something.

This is the one I installed for my home network

Tripp Lite 6U Wall Mount Rack Enclosure Server Cabinet, 16.5" Deep, Switch-Depth (SRW6U)
Amazon Amazon

Then you can look super cool and . I sure would buy that house if I saw it had a server enclosure there
thoiboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 07:35 AM   #24176
ROTAREDOM
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 27
Posts: 5,600
Thanked 1,448 Times in 1,031 Posts
I did a wire tuck for everything on the left. Everything over there was for satellite TV which I don't have anymore, a shitload of extra coax cable, and really old builder grade security system/box. Stuffed everything up in the rafters and put back the insulation. Now I can just rip off that board and focus on covering up the right side.
ssjoeboe9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 07:38 AM   #24177
ROTAREDOM
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 27
Posts: 5,600
Thanked 1,448 Times in 1,031 Posts
ssjoeboe9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 07:57 AM   #24178
Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
justnspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73,363
Thanked 12,890 Times in 9,534 Posts
atta boy!
justnspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 10:33 AM   #24179
Moderator
 
thoiboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 28,110
Thanked 4,727 Times in 3,765 Posts
Oh that works too.
thoiboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 10:42 AM   #24180
Moderator
Chapter Leader (South Florida Region)
iTrader: (6)
 
rockstar143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57,358
Thanked 12,923 Times in 9,631 Posts
I'd just build a cabinet around that electrical panel.
rockstar143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 10:58 AM   #24181
Moderator
 
cu2wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Dirty H-Town, Amerikkka
Posts: 14,845
Thanked 3,313 Times in 2,372 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockstar143 View Post
I'd just build a cabinet around that electrical panel.
cu2wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cu2wagon For This Useful Post:
MC MiYoung3269 (08-10-2017), ssjoeboe9 (08-10-2017)
Old 08-10-2017, 11:05 AM   #24182
Moderator
 
thoiboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 28,110
Thanked 4,727 Times in 3,765 Posts
Why is there no conduit around that Romex...
thoiboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 11:31 AM   #24183
Moderator
Chapter Leader (South Florida Region)
iTrader: (6)
 
rockstar143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57,358
Thanked 12,923 Times in 9,631 Posts
Ohio doesn't love its residents?!
rockstar143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 05:17 PM   #24184
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Age: 24
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Electric Power Steering : 61

So I was driving on the highway and All of the sudden I get "Electric Power Steering" warning message on my dashboard. The steering wheel was hard to turn I had to find somewhere to pull over. I turned engine off and back on as the computer suggested. Car is now running fine without the warning msg.

Has anybody experienced this? Any my feedback?

I scheduled an appoiment with the dealership tomorrow since my vehicle is certified pre owned.
jtsxcu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 02:18 AM   #24185
Registered Member
 
MC MiYoung3269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ㅎouston, ㅌexas
Age: 21
Posts: 3,339
Thanked 976 Times in 697 Posts
^ Nope, I would go get the stored code pulled though to see exactly what caused the issue. Could be many things, but from the looks of it, might be a intermittent PCM malfunction.


In other news, I made a videos
MC MiYoung3269 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MC MiYoung3269 For This Useful Post:
VR1 (08-12-2017)
Old 08-12-2017, 10:33 AM   #24186
Op is too busy to care
Thread Starter
 
KillerG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,259
Thanked 911 Times in 539 Posts
I hope everyone has been brushing twice a day in my absence.
KillerG is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KillerG For This Useful Post:
robpp (08-13-2017), VR1 (08-12-2017)
Old 08-12-2017, 06:18 PM   #24187
VR1
Itz JDM y0!
 
VR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Believeland->HOU
Age: 20
Posts: 2,115
Thanked 406 Times in 278 Posts
Was replacing my license plate lights since one was dead, after replacing one everything was working fine but after replacing the second one neither of them were working again. Figured I blew a fuse and went to replace it but after checking the owners manual I couldn't find any fuse that had the license plate lights listed.. Anyone have an idea?


VR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:59 PM   #24188
Registered Member
 
MC MiYoung3269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ㅎouston, ㅌexas
Age: 21
Posts: 3,339
Thanked 976 Times in 697 Posts
Did you replace with LED? I've tapped into those lights with a bunch of shit and never blew anything
MC MiYoung3269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:06 PM   #24189
VR1
Itz JDM y0!
 
VR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Believeland->HOU
Age: 20
Posts: 2,115
Thanked 406 Times in 278 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC MiYoung3269 View Post
Did you replace with LED? I've tapped into those lights with a bunch of shit and never blew anything
Yup, Morimoto 194s. They were LED before too also so I have no idea what happened
VR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:22 PM   #24190
Registered Member
 
MC MiYoung3269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ㅎouston, ㅌexas
Age: 21
Posts: 3,339
Thanked 976 Times in 697 Posts
kinda dumb, but did you put them in the right way? lol. Test with a multimeter? You're brown, I know you have a multimeter lying around :P
MC MiYoung3269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:59 PM   #24191
VR1
Itz JDM y0!
 
VR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Believeland->HOU
Age: 20
Posts: 2,115
Thanked 406 Times in 278 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC MiYoung3269 View Post
kinda dumb, but did you put them in the right way? lol. Test with a multimeter? You're brown, I know you have a multimeter lying around :P
I'll test it with a multimeter, good idea. Also when I lock the car only the passenger side turn signal/side mirror signal blink when I lock/unlock, not the driver's side so something is definitely jacked up lol.
VR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:41 AM   #24192
VR1
Itz JDM y0!
 
VR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Believeland->HOU
Age: 20
Posts: 2,115
Thanked 406 Times in 278 Posts
After spending damn near a hour and a half pulling every fuse on the drivers side and inspecting it I found out that fuse #27 (left side small lights) was blown. I guess the license plate lights is categorized under "small lights".
VR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:31 PM   #24193
Registered Member
 
MC MiYoung3269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ㅎouston, ㅌexas
Age: 21
Posts: 3,339
Thanked 976 Times in 697 Posts
lol yay
MC MiYoung3269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 03:41 PM   #24194
Moderator
 
cu2wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Dirty H-Town, Amerikkka
Posts: 14,845
Thanked 3,313 Times in 2,372 Posts
They are pretty small.

Should have been obvious. You have embarrassed yourself, for sure.
cu2wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cu2wagon For This Useful Post:
ssjoeboe9 (08-14-2017), VR1 (08-15-2017)
Old 08-15-2017, 09:20 AM   #24195
RTM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 105
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjoeboe9 View Post
As for painted cinder blocks... I know. It's not my forever home so I don't wanna put $15k into it, but I'd like to have something better than just bare wall. I figured it was a happy medium for price and comfort, especially since it does't require much skill like putting up drywall.

Put some kind of sealer down first, preferably shellac based. That way, when someone else decides they like bare cinder block, they won't be cursing you and your family. [ Says they guy who is still trying to remove paint from red brick for almost a year] Shellac comes off easily with alcohol.

The cabinet over your wiring stuff is a great simple fix. Just buy a cabinet which can function without a back or top.
RTM is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RTM For This Useful Post:
ssjoeboe9 (08-15-2017)
Old 08-15-2017, 04:04 PM   #24196
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Age: 40
Posts: 210
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Picked up a set of TL Type S waffle rims. Couldn't pass up the deal. Going to have the local tire shop swap them out for me but I would like to use my current 2012 tsx TPMS sensors in them. Does anyone know if my stock sensors will work on the TL waffle rims or will I have to buy a different set?
TSX1012m6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 05:27 PM   #24197
Everyday I'm rofling
 
opboarding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 29
Posts: 4,723
Thanked 1,772 Times in 1,093 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTM View Post
Put some kind of sealer down first, preferably shellac based. That way, when someone else decides they like bare cinder block, they won't be cursing you and your family. [ Says they guy who is still trying to remove paint from red brick for almost a year] Shellac comes off easily with alcohol.

The cabinet over your wiring stuff is a great simple fix. Just buy a cabinet which can function without a back or top.
I can't tell you how many house projects I've done where I've said "This is really going to suck for the future owner if he wants to change it at all. Oh well!"
opboarding is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to opboarding For This Useful Post:
ssjoeboe9 (08-16-2017)
Old 08-15-2017, 09:05 PM   #24198
Registered Member
 
MC MiYoung3269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ㅎouston, ㅌexas
Age: 21
Posts: 3,339
Thanked 976 Times in 697 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSX1012m6 View Post
Picked up a set of TL Type S waffle rims. Couldn't pass up the deal. Going to have the local tire shop swap them out for me but I would like to use my current 2012 tsx TPMS sensors in them. Does anyone know if my stock sensors will work on the TL waffle rims or will I have to buy a different set?
It'll work. The car will re learn itself once you drive a bit.
MC MiYoung3269 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MC MiYoung3269 For This Useful Post:
TSX1012m6 (08-16-2017)
Old 08-16-2017, 01:19 PM   #24199
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Age: 40
Posts: 210
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC MiYoung3269 View Post
It'll work. The car will re learn itself once you drive a bit.
Thanks for the info. Not sure if its required/offered but should I do a TPMS rebuild? I think they replace the rubber gaskets.
TSX1012m6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 01:31 PM   #24200
Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
justnspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73,363
Thanked 12,890 Times in 9,534 Posts
^not if the gaskets are looking great...
justnspace is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comprehensive KB1/KB2 Mod List - Need Input oo7spy Second Generation RL (2005-2012) 15 11-02-2016 01:40 PM
DIY: Converting DBW to Mechanical Cable Throttle with Working A/C cycdaniel 1G TSX Performance Parts & Modifications 4 05-22-2016 06:50 PM
SOLD: 2003 Acura CL Type-S Manual, Silver, 96k miles, Phoenix AZ mugen_kid Member Cars for Sale 7 11-13-2015 10:38 PM
2016 ILX Navigation with Real Time Traffic info ShyGuyMcFly83 Acura ILX Discussion 2 09-11-2015 10:51 PM
September 20th Mosport GoKarting event 3 - 6pm Sunday! Touge.ca 20+ events 2015!! Mugen TSX Eastern Canada 0 09-01-2015 11:11 PM


Tags
2006, 5k, 6k, acurazine, black, calipers, camaro, custom, drill, led, matte, red, rotors, spoiler, tsx, white

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: