My New $300 2003 Acura TL Type-S

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2014, 10:53 PM
Intermediate

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
My New $300 2003 Acura TL Type-S

Hello everyone....

Been reading different stuff on here for a while, so after the great deal I got on this car, thought i'd post some pictures of whats going on.

A few weeks ago, we had a kid and his dad come in our shop. I'm a professional technician, just so everyone knows. Anyway, kid was driving the car, when he heard a pop, then lost all power. They decited to get the problem diagnoised, and went to Wal-Mart to get a to strap....since the car was less than a mile away. They didn't want to pay a towing fee.

I get assigned the car, and about 10 minutes of doing the usual checks, found out the timing belt snapped. UH OH !! Since it's an interference engine, more than likely the pistons got real intimate with the valves. Since it was almost time to go home, we decited to call then the next day.

We gave them the only options avaliable : #1-Put a timing belt on it and see if it runs. There's only about a 5% chance that the engine survived...but the botton line is, either way, it's gonna cost you $1,200 smackers. Option #2-put a used engine in it. But that option is almost $5,000. And believe it or not, but the labor time to R&R and engine on this car is 25 hours. Multiply that by 99.00 a labor hour. Option #3-Drag the car across the scales at a junk yard and get maybe $300 for it. They took a few days to think about it, then one day out of the blue, the kid called and asked if anyone here wanted to buy it. So i said screw it...why not. I looked online and LKQ had a used engine with 170K for $350. I figured i'd have me a summer project car. So, about 2 weeks later...the kid and his dad come by and sign the title over to me, i fork over the cash, and instead of paying the Diag fee, the service writer made the ticket disappear for a 12 pack of Dos Equis.